Hints ‘n’ changes ‘n’ yummy (healthy) food

Today I’ll be writing about some healthy changes that I’ve made since I started running, and some super easy changes or activities to integrate into your daily routine in order to live a healthier life. (See!? I can make sense in my posts).

#1: No more fast food restaurants

I realized that since I started running for real (middle school track does not count), I haven’t eaten at a McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Chick-Fil-A, Popeye’s, KFC, Taco Bell, Burger King, Arby’s, Panda Express or anything like that. I’ve had Five Guys twice (because who can resist those Cajun fries), Elevation Burger maybe once, In-n-out twice (I was dragged there by my grandma when I was in California; I didn’t enjoy it), and Chipotle maybe six times. The only “fast food” that I truly enjoy is Subway, because you know exactly what you’re eating. Also, I avoid the bags of potato chips or other unhealthy sides that come with the meal. I’ve cut back drastically on my soda intake without even realizing it; the other day, I ordered Coke at a restaurant and realized that I hadn’t had soda in over a month. I’m guessing I drink soda maybe twice or three times per month, which is a huge, awesome change from before my running career!

Because of the decrease in fast food consumption, I’ve felt healthier, less sluggish, and I haven’t been sick (more than a cold) for almost three years. Fast food isn’t worth it!! Sure, it’s convenient and usually cheap, but is it really worth all those saturated fats and mystery meats and unholy amounts of sodium? NO! So instead of running out to McDonald’s for lunch, make a quick and easy salad or grilled chicken sandwich. Yum 🙂

#2: Dessert!!??!

Everyone who knows me knows that I am a major chocoholic. Actually, I’m a major I’m-going-to-eat-everything-in-sight-that’s-delicious-oholic. Doughnuts, brownies, cake, cupcakes, muffins, Nutella, ice cream, bags and bags of chocolate chips- I’ll eat all that and more if it’s in front of me. I. Love. Dessert. It does taste great while you’re eating it, but tons and tons of sweets make me feel like changing into sloppy clothes and taking a nap. Then, of course, I feel even guiltier that I just ate all that, so I take my feelings out on a pint of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream and watch some dumb show on Hulu. This actually happened to me today after I ate three doughnuts that I shouldn’t have. My point is, there are so many healthier, more delicious options than simply vegetating in front of the TV with an entire pie. For example, you can have a real fruit popsicle! They are delicious and contain maybe 50 calories along with no added sugar. Or you can pour orange juice (or any fruit juice) into a popsicle maker and make your own popsicles. Another healthy alternative is swapping out ice cream or frozen yogurt for homemade frozen Greek yogurt. Just mix melted chocolate chips or raspberries or something in with some plain non fat Greek yogurt and stick it in the freezer. Delicious! (I actually read this on another blog and decided to try it out; it was definitely a win.)

Okay, this is starting to get kind of long and I’m in a lazy mood so I’ll just continue this another time.

Leave a Reply

