Yummy dinner (brussels sprouts included!!)

Is it weird that I actually enjoy eating brussels sprouts? I don’t see what’s so bad about them! (other than the fact that they may make you a little…gassy.) They’re really good for you, with low sodium, low fat, and high Vitamin C. The advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages! So go eat some delicious Brussels sprouts 🙂

My mom cooked a delicious dinner tonight and I can’t decide if it was healthy or unhealthy. We had brussels sprouts, spinach, turkey sausage, and twice baked potatoes. Obviously the potatoes were unhealthy (although amazingly good!) but I’d like to think the brussels sprouts and the spinach made up for it. We’re not the kind of family that adds sauce or butter or other nastiness to our vegetables, so the spinach was just plain, steamed spinach. The brussels sprouts only had onions, so they were still healthy. The turkey sausage is leaner and contains more vitamins and minerals than regular sausage, but it’s still…sausage. Whatever, I’m calling it healthy-ish. 🙂

Now my thirteen-year-old, doesn’t-even-know-how-to-make-a-sandwich, brother is struggling to make cookie dough for the first time. He’s making me stay in the kitchen and walk him through every step- “Which mixer part do I use? How much sugar/butter/flour do I use? Oops, I messed up. Do the eggs go in now? How many chocolate chips?”- when he could just read the instructions on the chocolate chip bag. But I guess I can be a human computer because I’ve memorized the recipe. (guilty of a cookie dough addiction)

I’m going to try to eat healthy again tomorrow (I managed it today except for a teeny spoonful of cookie dough ice cream and now I have to resist the cookie dough-NOOO). I’ve been substituting my regular super fatty and unhealthy yet delicious Nutella for all-natural almond butter from Trader Joe’s. To put this in context, I’ll compare them below.

Nutella: 200 cal per serving, 12g fat, 2g protein, 21g sugar. First three ingredients are sugar, palm oil, and hazelnuts.

Almond butter: 190 cal per serving, 17g fat, 8g protein, 2g sugar. First three ingredients are… just kidding it only HAS TWO INGREDIENTS! dry roasted almonds and sea salt. How great is that!

While almond butter has more fat, it only has 1 gram of saturated fat, while Nutella has 4 grams. And almond butter contains way more protein and WAY less sugar (like, 19 grams less sugar per serving!!) (I’m in no way affiliated with or endorsing almond butter. Haha)

I’m a self-confessed Nutella-holic. But my resolution for right now (and hopefully the future) is to become an almond-butter-aholic and break my Nutella habit. I once finished off a Costco-sized jar of Nutella in…you guessed it…24 hours. I didn’t feel ill after that, but that’s because it was back in eighth grade when I weighed maybe 80 pounds and could eat 5,000 calories of chocolatey fat and burn it off in ten minutes and forget it ever happened. WHY CAN’T I STILL DO THAT!?

By the way, I’ve continued resisting the cookie dough by imagining how gross I’ll feel after eating it. Also the Nutella jar is sitting right in front of me and I’m resisting. Yay me!

Leave a Reply

