First day of school/Silver Diner/welcome-back-workout

Today was the first day of my junior year!! Upperclassmen didn’t have to go to school until 11 because there were 3 hours of freshmen orientating in the morning. It included super fun activities like group jump rope and a scavenger hunt around the school!!!! (note the sarcasm) Thank god we didn’t have to do stuff like that my freshman year. Our school implemented this new “happy-joy-let’s-orientate-freshmen-by-having-them-take-part-in-kindergartener-activities” program during my sophomore year. Phew. (Dodged a bullet there)

Anyway, because we had time in the morning, my friend and I decided to go to Silver Diner (a local 50’s-style diner complete with juke boxes and all-day breakfast!) for breakfast. I’ve been eating pretty healthy for the past few days, so I thought, “Hey, why not go all out to celebrate the first day of school?” I ordered a Chunky Monkey milkshake, two huge blueberry pancakes with butter, scrambled eggs, and a stack of bacon. It was so delicious. My friend, who once ate an entire bag of Hershey’s Kisses in one day and still ate normally for the rest of the day, ordered french fries, bacon, and a chocolate milkshake. (Then she had her normal stack of 5 cookies for lunch). Our breakfasts were delicious, and we had fun putting quarters into the juke box and choosing songs like “You’re the one that I want” and “Hello, I love you.”

We got to school and had probably an hour to kill, so we wandered the halls and said hello to some people that we knew. Because school started so late, classes were only about 20 minutes today, and so far I love all of my classes…except for one of them. Out of the seven classes I’m taking, six of them are IB (I’m in the International Baccalaureate program). One of them is a normal level psychology class. Now, there’s a reason I don’t take normal level classes. I walked into class and it was full of lazy seniors that are only taking psych to fill their schedule and don’t actually care about the class. Needless to say, I’m choosing another elective and getting out of there as soon as possible!

We had a delightful Crime and Punishment test in English (first day back- they certainly don’t waste any time). I hardly remembered anything that had actually happened in the book. Oh well. After school, it was probably 90 degrees and we had a lovely hill workout! There were 3 of our top 7 and then our 8, 9, and 10 girls. It was really hot and I could feel the effects of my pig-out feast from this morning. We did 4 long hills and one short one, and on the short one I basically staggered to the finish and collapsed on the grass. Not fun

Tomorrow we’re waking up early to go to our 6 am Pilates class before school! Sooo fun!! (not) It’s a good way to start the morning, though, and I hear we’re doing a Starbucks run afterwards. Hopefully it’ll be fun; peaceful exercise and a Java Chip Frappucino make for a nice start to the day.

Because of my pig-out today, I definitely have to eat healthy tomorrow (except for the Frappucino). I already made my breakfast and lunch and they will be delicious:

Breakfast: smoothie with banana, frozen raspberries, dinosaur plum, non-fat yogurt, wheat germ, almond butter, and honey. I tasted it and it is sooooo good! I can barely restrain myself from drinking it right now. (I thought the dinosaur plums were nectarines until my mom looked at me like I was an idiot)

Lunch: “salad-in-a-wrap” (lettuce, spinach, cucumber, tomato, and lite Italian dressing in a tortilla), carrots and hummus, banana, and sugar snap peas

My mom is forcing me to finally grow up this year and make my own lunch. (I know, I’m a junior in high school, I should have been making my lunches for years, right? But my mother is awesome in that respect) I’m thinking this will last maybe a week or two, and then she’ll just end up making my lunches again. Hehe 🙂

All in all, a pretty good first day back! Hopefully the rest of the week will be good, too. Our first invitational is on Saturday!

Leave a Reply

