Break is over, grind is on!

Today was my first real run since states. I woke up at 7:30 am and chowed down on toast with almond butter. I was practically jumping up and down, I was so excited to run. So you can imagine my expression when I checked the weather and saw that it was 27 degrees outside.

Thanks, weather gods!!

Needless to say, my enthusiasm dimmed a little. I layered up in two pairs of pants and multiple shirts, dug my gloves out, borrowed my mom’s ear warmer, and headed out. The wind was practically biting my throat (I have to invest in some turtlenecks, no matter how dorky they may be), but aside from having to turn around 30 seconds in because I forgot to close my garage door, the run went great!

 Image

(I look like a moron but who cares!)

I am very happy to be running again. I did a lot of abs and some push-ups over the past week, and I even went to the gym with my dad yesterday morning for some arm and shoulder work, but even strength work didn’t lessen my need to run. Luckily, I don’t think I lost much fitness at all because I felt pretty strong this morning.

Thanksgiving is in four days and I am hoping that I can resist gorging myself. (Not that I had any success last week, and it wasn’t even a holiday.) We usually eat at my mom’s friend’s house- luckily, my mom’s friend is a health nut/vegetarian kind of gal! 

I’m always in charge of the cranberry sauce and a dessert or two. Usually, my cranberry sauce is the typical 1 bag of cranberries, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup water deal, but this year I’m thinking one batch of that and one batch of “heath-ified” cranberry sauce. Unfortunately, I can’t use pineapple juice because some people are allergic! Maybe I’ll experiment with applesauce and maple syrup.

hate do not enjoy indoor track (cold. dry racing air. COLD. short track. COLD), but I’m still hoping to get some PRs in and to get a lot stronger. This season, I’m definitely planning on putting in strength work, be it from Pilates or Saturday morning gym sessions. I need to take that stupid teen course so I can go to the gym by myself! I also want to become more flexible- considering how very inflexible I am, I’m surprised I don’t get injured more often. 

Ooh! I have two new food obsessions interests!

Obsession #1: Celery and all-natural peanut butter!

Image

(BTW, this isn’t my photo. I just googled celery and PB)

Classic childhood snack with a twist! The thing to remember here is all-natural peanut butter. Not that Jif crap. Let’s compare them:

One serving of Jif creamy peanut butter: 250 calories (200 fat cals), 22g fat, 190 mg sodium, 11g carbohydrates (4g sugar), 9g protein. Ingredients: roasted peanuts, sugar, contains 2% or less of: molasses, fully hydrogenated vegetable oils (rapeseed and soybean), mono and diglycerides, salt. (source:http://www.jif.com/Products/Details?categoryId=276&productId=572)

One serving of all-natural market pantry creamy peanut butter: 200 calories (150 fat cals), 16g fat, 120 mg sodium, 6g carbohydrates (1g sugar), 8g protein. Ingredients: peanuts, salt.

I think we know who wins here.

Obsession #2: poached eggs!

71 calories and 6 grams of protein…and poached eggs or delicious.

That’s it for today! I really have to get started on rewriting some body paragraphs for English. It took me five tries to get my introduction up to my teacher’s standards…

Leave a Reply

