Inspiration/kick in the pants

I had an amazing 49-minute run yesterday and probably ran about 6.5 miles. It was cold and windy, and my legs were kind of numb so I couldn’t really feel how fast I was going.  Which was fast. Whenever I run by myself, I’ve noticed that I tend to go really (almost too) fast.  My weekend run is supposed to be long and easy, but because we’ve only been running for a week or two since our break after cross states, our coach has been having us do weekday runs that are a little shorter than normal (35-45 minutes). So I decided to do 50 minutes yesterday. I have this problem mindset where if I’m running alone, I always have to be the fastest runner on the trail. I don’t mean for this to happen, it just happens.  It started last year when I noticed I was going much faster than most of the community people jogging at 2 in the afternoon on a Saturday. So now, I have to be. Unless it’s an elite marathoner or something. Then, I feel justified in letting them pass me 😉

Anyway, it’s snowing right now (first snow of the ((school)) year!) and I was feeling very polar bear/hybernation-y and lazy. I decided to give myself a kick in the butt and feel re-motivated again.  Naturally, I turned to my all-time favorite inspirational running video:

This is the greatest video ever. It’s not Nike official or anything, just done by some random person who was watching the 2012 trials. But the music and the footage are so compatible! And so inspirational!  Now I’m in the mood to go for like a 2-hour run which a) I’m definitely not supposed to do and b) I’m pretty sure I’m not physically capable of doing at any acceptable pace.

Now let’s hope this “snow” keeps up so I don’t have to go to school tomorrow. I have a crap-ton of Spanish reading to do.

Is it snow or is it rain? It's slush! (Yuck)

Is it snow or is it rain? It’s slush! (Yuck)

Leave a Reply

