New Year’s Resolutions…one day late

Happy New Year! Just for fun, let’s make fun of my second-grade self.

freakin' intellectual genius as a seven-year-old

freakin’ intellectual genius as a seven-year-old

Oh, New Year’s Day.  The trails are filled with people vowing to get their lives back on track. Couples run up and down the streets together in brand-new running shoes.  We resolutely throw away boxes of cookies and bags of chips because really, all that processed junk food is awful and I’m going to eat healthy this year.

Which lasts about three days.

(Less in my case because I was just forced to eat dim sum with my family even though I hate Chinese food with a passion and it makes me feel like shit.  I was planning on eating poached eggs and sugar snap peas for lunch, but instead was forced to eat slippery, jiggly shrimp dumplings, slimy duck, and over-adulterated green beans. UGHHHH. Poached eggs and toast on the menu for dinner.)

This year, my resolutions are not going to be the “Eat healthy and run six days a week” type of thing that they usually are because hey, I achieved that in 2013!  Mine are going to be smaller, but more specific.  More like a checklist. I’m posting them in order to hold myself accountable.   I’ll check in four times this year to see how I’m doing.

New Year’s Resolutions (To-do list?) 2014

1.  Be able to touch my hands to the floor and my nose to my knees (flexibility!). Stretch every day.

2. Do 51 push-ups without a break.  (I have this weird thing where I set a goal for myself but always have to do one more than the goal to prove, I guess, that I’ve actually achieved it. Like when I have “30 push-ups” written on my schedule, I always have to do 31 or else I feel like a failure.)

3. Get my license! (I could’ve gotten it already but I’ve been…procrastinating…)

4.  Get as close to breaking 18 minutes for 3 miles as I can.  (I know this is setting the bar high, considering how I’m 45 seconds away. But it’s okay if I don’t. I just realllllllllllllly want to.)

5. Become a better listener/more considerate.  Use my blog for snarky comments instead of saying them to people’s faces 😉

6.  Get a defined six-pack. I have one now if I flex…

7. Learn how to cook ten new things by heart.

8. Get MVP for the 2014 cross country season.  That will be a challenge because you never know what can happen in a season, and there are two other girls that are just as fast as me.  But if I train my hardest and want it the most, I can get it.

9. Get better at speaking Spanish out loud.

10. Do something (positive) I’ve never done before!

So those are my resolutions for 2014.  I hope I achieve them!  Hope everyone has a great year.

Leave a Reply

