Snow Day!

Snow-day roulette worked in my favor! I woke up at 5 this morning and looked out the window to see the world gloriously coated in powdered sugar  snow.

photo 3-2
Don’t comment on the amount (or lack thereof) of snow- school was once cancelled because of rain.  I’m not complaining.

The school website proclaimed, “All county schools are closed Friday, Jan. 3.” In my foggy sleep state, I just stared at it for a few seconds, then processed that Friday, Jan. 3 was today and I did not have to go to school.

So of course after that I couldn’t go back to sleep at all.

On my morning walk with my dog, I completely miscalculated how cold it was. “Oh, it’s probably about 30 degrees. I’ll just wear some light gloves.”

Wrong.  I checked the temperature after I got back: 16 degrees plus wind chill.

photo 1-4
frozen fingers

You have no idea how cold I was in this picture.  I could not even feel my fingers, or my nose, or my toes.

I holed up in my room with my space heater going full blast, drinking Earl Grey tea and watching Parenthood and Silver Linings Playbook.  (Yay for Jennifer Lawrence) Unfortunately, the 18-degree temperatures meant that the snow did not go anywhere today.  I saw a woman trying to jog on the icy sidewalks this morning and the way she was struggling I decided:

Toddlers and Tiaras…ohhh goodness.

With running and biking out of the question (and my lack of access to a treadmill), I started feeling crabby.  If there’s anything I hate more than Chinese food, it’s missing a run.  Luckily, the high school pools were open today even though the schools themselves were closed. I changed into a bathing suit, thinking, “What the hell am I wearing a bathing suit for when it’s sixteen degrees and icy outside?”  45 minutes of aqua jogging was a better decision than running because a) my legs still hurt and I figured low-impact exercise would take the strain off and help them recover, and b) I was not about to fight my way through the ice and snow and freeze to death.  I haven’t cross trained in forever, so I also needed this aqua jog.

I get so bored when I aqua jog.  There’s literally nowhere to look except the clock, which of course seems to move extra slowly when you’re constantly looking at it.  My aqua jogging goes something like this: Get in pool. Look at clock. Jog one lap. Look at clock. Force myself to not look at clock for three laps. Look at clock. Two minutes have passed. Repeat.  Does anyone have suggestions on how to pass the time/not be bored while aqua jogging?  I usually go with friends (except for that awful week in September when I was injured and had to aqua jog every day by myself).

Happy snow day! What do you do when your run is disrupted by inclement weather? (Rain doesn’t count because anyone can run through rain, just suck it up and don’t wear mascara.)

Leave a Reply

