World Nutella Day meets health…who will win?

If you hadn’t already figured it out, I’m addicted to chocolate.  Actually, I’m addicted to dessert. Actually, just food in general…

photo-10day-after-Thanksgiving leftovers bliss

But my food addiction is beside the point.  The point is that World Nutella Day is in two days, and I used to be a hardcore Nutella addict until last August when I randomly decided that I would never eat Nutella again take a break from the chocolatey hazelnut heaven in a jar.  This has ultimately turned into me not touching the stuff since then.

(Chocolatey is a word, Spell Check!)

Last year, I was freakin’ on point with this holiday.

69281_391714977591058_944606833_n

I made banana Nutella cupcakes with extremely sugary Nutella frosting.  I advertised the holiday to my friends, making sure that everyone participated and indulged in scooping the stuff out of a jar with a spoon.  I must have eaten 3,000 calories of Nutella in one day.

Oh, how times have changed…

Nowadays, the very thought of so much sugar/fat/yuckiness disgusts me.  I’m just picturing spoonfuls of Nutella slithering down into my stomach and…just sitting there, making me feel lethargic and tired and depressed.

Cold Hard Nutella Facts: (Source: Nutella USA)

  • Ingredients: sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, cocoa, skim milk, reduced minerals whey (milk), lecithin as emulsifier (soy), vanillin: an artificial flavor.
  • Each serving of Nutella contains 200 calories (110 from fat)
  • There are 21 grams of sugar per serving (and only 2g of protein!)
  • One serving of Nutella is 20% of your recommended daily saturated fat intake

0520_nutella_630x420They look so innocent…

You can see why I have absolutely no desire to break my unofficial “Thou-shalt-not-partake-in-the-consumption-of-Nutella” pact that I didn’t realize I was making last August.

Now that I’ve decided to maintain my Nutella abstinence, my options for celebrating the holiday have actually expanded! Some of my choices:

  • Eat the rest of the brownie batter dip that I made the other day.  I got the recipe from Chocolate-Covered Katie and it’s basically an extremely healthy Nutella.  Surprise: It contains garbanzo beans!!  (Yes, the kind you use to make hummus.) But it tastes amazing and is super-nutritious. You can’t taste the beans.
  • Make “Healthy Nutella.” (also from Chocolate-Covered Katie)
  • Eat salads and vegetables and lean proteins all day without chocolate. Somehow I don’t think I’ll choose this option… 😉

Have a good World Nutella Day!  No matter how you celebrate, whether sticking to carrots and snap peas or digging into a Ferrero jar with your fingers, I hope you have a blast.  Food is meant to be enjoyed!! Why not holidays to emphasize that?

PS: On another note, I turn seventeen in eleven days! (Yes, Valentine’s Day. I don’t like the holiday, but I do like my birthday. Does that make any sense?)

Leave a Reply

