Regionals!!…or not

I thought I’d be writing a triumphant (or maybe not) post tonight about my two mile, but…nope!  Instead, I hope you’ll enjoy this anecdote from my day at school today after regionals was postponed.

To give you context, I didn’t finish preparing for my English oral on the assumption that I would not be in class today because of regionals.

(English starts at 12:04 pm.)

Me, walking down hall, 11 am: “Hi, teammate!”
Teammate, 11 am: “Did you hear the meet was postponed because of the incoming snowstorm?”
Me, 11:02 am: “Wait, really? That’s annoying.  Do you know when- *stomach drops*….OHHHHHH…….SHIT.”
Teammate, 11:03 am: “What?”
Me: “THAT MEANS I HAVE TO GO TO ENGLISH CLASS TODAY AND I DIDN’T FINISH PREPARING FOR MY ORAL OH NO OH SHIT OHMYGODI’MGOINGTODIE.”
Teammate:

[See, if I were anyone else, I would’ve just skipped class.  But being the goody-two-shoes that I am, the thought didn’t even cross my mind.]

Me, 11:05: *runs to computer lab*
Me, 11:10: *realizes I didn’t attach the actual document when I emailed my work-in-progress presentation outline to myself a few days ago, and school computers reset everything daily, so it is now lost forever in cyberspace*
Me, 11:11: *shoots self*
Me, 11:20: *decides “yolo” and uses the old outline that is not an outline so much as a 3,000-word script*
Me, 11:45: *begins BS-ing a conclusion to my presentation*
Me, 12:04: *Oookayyyyy*

Obviously, I didn’t have a chance to rehearse at all, so I had absolutely no idea how long it’d be.  I stood in front of the class, talked for 22 minutes, answered questions, was briefly interrupted by a singing valentine, and sat down.

I barely have a clue what I talked about.

And you know what?  I was honestly way less nervous than I was for the oral a few months ago (when I knew the day I was presenting and actually rehearsed).  Hmm….

Our county decided not to be a beeyotch and wait to cancel school at 5 in the morning like they usually do, so I already know that I don’t have school tomorrow.  I’m excited to spend the day making chocolatey desserts in preparation for the holiday that occurs on Friday.

(Ew, not Valentine’s Day.  My birthday!)

Leave a Reply

