“Clean” eats and running again!

My hiatus from running finally ended on Saturday!  It felt like so much longer than a week, and I woke up Saturday morning wayyy too eager to lace up my sneakers again.

It was 60 degrees and sunny out as I headed out the door.  60 degrees!!  Quite a change from the recent highs of 20 or 25.  The temperatures called for shorts, so I eagerly broke out the spandex.

It's been so long since they've seen the sun!

It’s been so long since they’ve seen the sun!

Am I being dramatic? Possibly.

Did I enjoy my first run of the outdoor season in shorts? Absolutely.

It was pretty hard not to go bounding through the streets for the first ten minutes; I definitely had to restrain my speed.  It was a good thing I did, though, because I started to feel the effects of not running for a week after about 25-30 minutes.  I returned from the run sweaty (sweaty!), tired, a little creeped out because some middle school boys tried to hit on me, but overall very satisfied.

I did try to stick to my food plan for the most part over the past week, but I still felt/feel kind of…mushy.  All the ab routines and arm workouts in the world really can’t make up for the joy and calorie-burning of plain, simple running.

Friday's abs'n'arms

Friday’s abs’n’arms

photo 1-10photo 2-14

My cheat foods for the week included pumpkin pancakes to celebrate National Pancake Day (this girl does not do IHOP) along with a giant vegan peanut butter cookie.  Also, I made chocolate chip cookies (unpictured) last night to appease some insatiable cookie dough cravings.

I forced myself not to run today because I didn’t want to jump back in with nine straight days of running and no break, which is what would’ve happened if I’d run today and continued running the whole week.  But I’m very excited to run every day this week.

On another note, excluding bread, I ate completely clean* today!  Success!

*clean meaning no processed foods or additives.  Each food has only one or two ingredients.

I don’t eat a lot of processed foods besides whole wheat bread anyway, but today I decided that I wouldn’t eat anything (except bread) that didn’t fit it with the whole eating clean concept.

I really must become a better blogger and actually take pictures of my food sometimes…

Breakfast: Toast with almond butter, yogurt with strawberries
Lunch: Egg/egg white omelet with spinach and tomatoes, toast with natural PB and banana, orange
Early Afternoon Snack: Toast with natural PB and banana
Late Afternoon Snack: Apples and celery with natural PB
Dinner: Roast chicken, sweet potato, asparagus, and broccoli
Dessert: Fruit bowl- strawberries, blueberries, banana, apple

Fruit bowls are the bomb dot com

Fruit bowls are the bomb dot com

My mom and I spent the afternoon going to like four grocery stores, and we loaded up with basically everything we could possibly need food-wise for the next week.  I think I’ll try to stick with the “clean eating plus bread” shindig- it makes me feel accomplished, and I can make adorable Rubbermaid meals from tonight’s leftovers, along with various vegetables, brown rice, etc.  I’m switching to whole grain bread tomorrow, so that’s exciting.

Is it depressing, amusing, or awesome that my classmates spend the weekend going to parties and getting high, while the highlight of my weekend is getting whole grain bread?  To each their own, I guess.  I just have no interest in drinking or doing drugs or staying up till 5 a.m.; I’d rather stay cozy in bed with a mug of tea and three episodes of Chicago Fire to watch and go to bed at 10.  I’m an 85-year-old trapped in a 17-year-old’s body who sometimes gets mistaken for a seventh grader. 😉

Sometime soon, I’ll write a post about my goals for the upcoming outdoor season.  (By the way, my friend-who-randomly-recently-became-really-good-at-running just ran a sub-5 minute 1600.  Life is so unfair :P)  I’m pretty psyched for this outdoor season; I hope good things will come of it.

Leave a Reply

