It’s not a road trip if you don’t get dessert

Recently, it seems like all the typical “junior year” stress has been hitting me at once.  Along with the increased intensity and amounts of homework and classwork, there’s the SAT and subject tests, college tours, IB meetings, NCAA paperwork, financial aid and scholarship seminars, track practice, tutoring, doing in-car lessons to get my license, helping with a local elementary school’s Girls on the Run program, etc.  There aren’t enough hours in the day!

During times like these, it’s important to take a moment and reflect on the wonderful simple things.  I usually overlook this and end up crabby and stressed out.

Yesterday, my dad and I did some college touring and went to an engineering open house.  Afterwards, we stopped for frozen custard and pie and cheesecake…because my dad cannot go on a road trip without making multiple stops for treats!

photo 2-1

 

Other highlights from my weekend:

photo 2-2

This morning, my mom dropped me off at a spot on my favorite trail on her way to church so that I could run farther on it than I do when I have to start from my house.  I love those runs where you get to the turnaround point and think, “Man! I wanted to keep going!”

photo 3-2After a chilly morning run, some abs, and push-ups (I’m getting closer to my goal of 50 consecutive!!), I refueled with oatmeal and scrambled egg whites.  My new favorite breakfast is a big bowl of oatmeal made with milk, topped with banana, raspberries, almond butter, and cinnamon.   It’s deeeelicious and fills you right up!

Another week is upon us, and unfortunately, it’s quarter exam week.  Ahhhh!  Time to start studying…after I’ve finished watching Modern Family…

 

 

One thought on “It’s not a road trip if you don’t get dessert

Leave a Reply

