April Fool’s and the ultimate comfort food

Happy Day After April Fool’s Day!  Did you prank anyone?

Our girls’ team pranked one of the boys by writing “PROM?” across our stomachs and “APRIL FOOLS” across our backs.  I don’t have a picture of the entire spectacle, but it was pretty great.  Especially when our old, ridiculous sprinter coach had a fit of convulsive laughter.

photo 1-2

My role in the debacle… I had an “I” and an “L” on my back

Rockin’ the shorts-under-sweats look.  Nothing like post-run fashion…

Yesterday was just a run, but I was starving (as usual) from the time I got home until dinner.  I spend much of the hour between 6 and 7 o’clock trying to distract myself from the fact that dinner is not ready yet.  Even my post-workout snack of two pieces of toast with peanut butter and banana seemed to make me hungrier!  But last night, dinner was worth the wait.

photo 3-5

My wonderful mother made a gigantic lasagna!!  Layers upon layers of noodles, cheese, sausage (I don’t even like sausage), ground beef, more cheese, sauce, tomatoes… ’twas delicious.  I ate three huge pieces, and I am not sorry in the slightest.

photo 4-2

b4d39b2962f7e7ac23159684cd651356After dinner, my dessert consisted of a cup of Chobani blueberry…but I’m the weird person who scoops out half the sugar syrup fruit at the bottom because it’s way too sweet.  I added a heaping spoonful of plain Greek yogurt and some bananas.  Yum.  Healthy!

photo 5-2

feat. tiger tail

Today was our only home meet/Senior Night.  Unfortunately, I was doing some driver’s ed stuff that fell smack in the middle of the meet.  So I did a solo track workout right after school…and didn’t realize until after I started that I had remnants of the M, I, and L from our prank still written on my stomach and back.  Whoops!  On the other hand, I had a very good workout considering I was alone; I did a descending ladder, nothing long or fancy, 1600, 1200, 800, 400.  5:57, 4:20, 2:48, 1:15.  Everything except the 12 was faster than the paces my coach had given me.  Is that good…or bad?

Our next meet is on Saturday, and I’m running the 4×8 and the open 800.  What has happened to my “I don’t run 800s” mindset?  The state autos came out yesterday and they are so slow (relatively speaking) that my times from indoor almost qualify me! My coach wants me to aim for maybe the state auto in the 800 this Saturday, so I’ll see what I can do.  My calf is feeling quite a bit better 🙂

Leave a Reply

