Medical tent adventures

For only the second time since December, I did not PR in an open race.

I knew this would happen eventually, but I’ve just been spoiled and lucky and got used to PR-ing.  I was a little upset with this race because I know I’m in better shape than a 5:20 mile.  But the circumstances that followed the race were so extremely strange that I’m not that focused on the race itself.

We miscalculated the time until our race so I ate my English muffin too close to the race and they were lining us up when we were still on our warm-up.   We didn’t really get to stretch or skip or anything.  To top it off, I forgot my spikes, so I had to race back up to the team tent, grab them, and race back.

Starting line non-excitement

Starting line non-excitement

I was going to try to go for the state auto, but I was a bit skeptical because it was hot, the sun was blazing, and I was tired.

The gun went off, and literally no one wanted to take the lead.  Unfortunately, I ended up in front with some other girl and we had to lead for three laps.  (81, 79, 80 high)

In front, not by choice ;)

In front, not by choice 😉

By the third lap, I was pretty exhausted, and my feet were on fire.  Stupid bunions :/ The bell rang signaling the last lap, and I was immediately passed by six people.  Awkward…  I kind of died mentally on the back stretch of the last lap, especially when I saw my teammate (who’s the same speed as me) shoot into first.  With 150 meters to go, I thought, “I’m in seventh place. This is not okay! I have to get a medal!” I passed my one of my teammates (not the one in first), kicked down the home stretch passing two other girls, and finished fourth in 5:20. I thought I’d gotten 5:19, but alas.  It doesn’t matter anyway.  I was well off my goal of 5:12.

Death

Yeeahhh, not the greatest race

Immediately after crossing the finish line, I physically felt awful.  The sun/heat/food/bad race prep had taken its toll, I guess, because both of my teammates and I looked and felt like death.  Our coach commanded us not to cool down, but to sit in the shade and pour ice over each other.  My teammate who had won started throwing up, but the other girl and I started feeling better.  We walked back to our tent and sat for a little while, then decided to try to cool down.  Unfortunately, we both suddenly felt like we were going to pass out/throw up/die, so we took a detour to the medical tent.

As I crossed the turf field on the way to the medical tent, all of a sudden I collapsed onto all fours.  It was so weird!  I was hyperventilating and crying and just couldn’t stand or function.  I somehow ended up lying on my back on the ground in the medical tent, but I don’t really remember clearly how I got there.  I had a bag of ice and people were talking at/around me, trying to locate my mom, etc.  It was awkward because they were saying stuff like, “You just pushed yourself a little too hard” when I hadn’t even run that well.  After awhile, I got my breathing under control and started to feel better.  I sat up on the medical tent bench and some lady gave me more ice and an energy chew.  My teammate was on the ground kind of sitting in a daze.  Eventually, we felt okay enough to leave the tent, and I jogged for about five minutes to get some sort of cool down in even though my race had been over for almost an hour.

Too bad no one got a picture of that!

To sum it all up, it was by far the weirdest race experience I’ve ever had.  A kind-of-crappy race followed by nausea, disorientation, delirium, lots of ice, and Gatorade chews.

I’m taking today off and hopefully this coming week brings solid workouts and lots of rest.  I’ll really focus on my diet and nutrition, along with trying to get enough sleep.  My body clock has been forcing me to wake up at 6 every day, so I’m in a little sleep deficit right now which is quite frustrating.

Let’s try to keep the scary race experiences at bay ands steer clear of the medical tent!

Leave a Reply

