Strength time, Quest bars, and quesadillas

I went to the gym on Saturday for the first time in months!!  I go with my dad because I’ve been too lazy to take the teen course that allows teens to use the equipment unsupervised, but my dad just leaves me to do whatever for the most part and does his own thing.

No body shots because I only take pictures of myself working out when I know no one can see (and judge) me.  Hehe.

I PRed in the shoulder press with two 20 pound dumbbells, but that’s not saying much because I don’t lift for PRs, I lift to get strong and cross-train for running!  I felt the burn as I did a descending ladder-type shoulder press by going from super heavy to heavy to kinda heavy to medium to light.  Ouch.

The other day, I went on Amazon and ordered a 12-pack “sampler” of Quest bars!  I’d heard fantastic reviews about them, so I decided that I would order the sampler pack in order to see which flavors I liked.  So far, I’ve tried chocolate chip cookie dough and strawberry cheesecake……

photo 4 photo 5BOOOOO.  I did not like them.  Why didn’t I like them?? I feel like an outcast now because 95% of fitfam peeps swear by the bars and are willing to die for them.  (I totally just made that statistic up by the way.)  Also, the outside is completely misleading.  When I saw the smooth texture, I assumed the entire bar would be smooth and creamy and delicious like real cookie dough.  Nope.  The inside is dry and gross.  Baking it made it slightly better, but definitely not like a real chocolate chip cookie like everyone on Instagram claims!

Anyway, I still have ten flavors left to try, so hopefully I’ll find one that I enjoy.  The artificial sweeteners are nasty, though.  I’ve never been a big fan.

In other news, I made the best quesadilla of my life today!  It was amazing.  Loosely based off of Hungry Runner Girl’s “Cowboy Quesadillas,” I included plain chicken, corn, tomato, black beans, and mozzarella cheese.  Pile it onto a tortilla, stick another tortilla on top, and cook on a frying pan on low to medium heat for about 3 minutes on each side.  Quesadilla heaven.

photo 1-1photo 2-1

Our first captains’ run was today, and a dozen people showed up!  (That’s a lot.)  Usually everyone skips because they’re on vacation or just don’t feel like coming.  The freshmen were underwhelmed, though– “I thought there would be more people here!”  Oh, just wait until August when official practices start and there are 130 kids on the track at the same time…

 

Leave a Reply

