Why I haven’t posted lately: Girls’ Fire Camp

*Warning:  There may be more curse words than usual in this post* 🙂

Last weekend, I attended a girls’ firefighting camp organized by the county.  A few months ago, my mom decided she didn’t like my summer plans of running, eating, summer assignments, and social media, so she forced encouraged me to apply to this camp.

Did I enjoy this three-day camp?  Hell to the no.  Some parts were informative and bearable, but the majority was a pain in the ass.

First of all, the camp was for girls ages 13 to 18, but it was definitely geared toward 13-year-olds.  There were no 18-year-olds, and the only 17-year-old there besides me was bitchy, superior, disgusting, obese, and kind of psycho… so I tried to avoid her.  Over half the participants were rising 8th and 9th graders; I haven’t been around that many girls that age for years, so I forgot about the maturity levels (or lack thereof).  Needless to say, it was a loooooong weekend.

Friday/Day 1: 5 am wake-up to get my run in, then headed to the fire station.

photo 2-4

5 am run

After a welcome speech, it was off to the fire training academy where we had physical training (PT), fire history/fire behavior class, and a live fire demo.

  • PT was a complete joke, but everyone acted like it was impossible, so naturally all the firefighters treated us like it was impossible.  I didn’t want to seem like a snobby fitness beeyotch, so whenever anyone asked, “Wow, PT was really hard, right? Oh my god I hate stairs!  Those push-ups had me dying!!”  I squashed my eye rolls and smiled and said, “Yeah, so challenging!” with only the slightest hint of sarcasm 😉
  • Fire history and behavior class was ridiculously boring, and I fell asleep.
  • Lunch was boring but luckily not all that unhealthy.  Hummus wraps and lunch meat turkey wraps
  • The fire demo was pretty interesting and quite hot
  • The dorm rules were draconian and unnecessary for anyone over the age of 13.

Saturday/Day 2: 7:15 wake-up by our “mentor” who did not mentor us in any way, shape, or form

  • Breakfast was !?!?!?!? unbelievable.  Not in a positive way.  I was so damn lucky I brought my own almond butter and stole “wheat” bread from the university dining hall because the breakfast choices were gigantic Costco muffins and “protein” aka candy bars.  I don’t think I’ve ever eaten more than half a Costco muffin by myself and there were (overweight) girls eating three whole muffins.  By themselves.  For breakfast.  There are over 600 calories in a single muffin!! I stuck to my two slices of bread and almond butter and snagged a banana at PT.
  • PT was a joke again.
Uniforms: navy blue work pants and gigantic black boots

Uniforms: navy blue work pants and gigantic heavy black boots

  • CPR training was one of the highlights of this camp.  It took about four hours in total.
  • Lunch: greasy chicken wings and potato salad 😦
  • Dinner was fun, actually.  Groups of eight girls went to three different fire stations and toured, learned about fire station life, climbed the aerial ladder,  cooked dinner and talked with the crew.  The best part, besides the two gigantic burgers and huge brownie/ice cream combo that I devoured, was meeting and talking to the hottest firefighter I’ve ever met.  Damn 😉 In his twenties, he was quite hospitable and dealt with all the googoo-eyed 13-year-olds who obviously thought he was “cute.”  I’d like to think I was more mature…  In the middle of dinner some of the firefighters had to leave to go help an elderly choke victim who’d had a little too much pork chop.  Fun fun fun.

Sunday/final day: Our mentor decided we had been “too slow” the previous morning (even though we’d been downstairs and ready to go HALF AN HOUR BEFORE EVERYONE ELSE) so she woke us up at 6:45 while everyone else got up at 7:30.  Because that makes sense.

  • PT involved climbing seventeen flights of stairs at a hotel, twice, with the option of going a third time.  I didn’t go a third time because who the hell wants to climb more stairs than they have to and get even sweatier and more dehydrated?  Of course, some 13-year-old who was jealous of my track prowess because she was also a “star runner” (a sprinter who had “all the records at her school”) kept yelling shit like, “How many times did you go up?  climbed THREE times and one of the times I was wearing firefighting gear.”tumblr_ma94ktWBlL1qlpkpu
  • Fire hose soccer: trying to get a medicine ball to go in the “goal” by spraying it with fire hoses.  Unnecessary and it soaked my running shoes, which I was NOT happy about.

    I almost look like I'm having fun.  PT outfits were strategically designed to make absolutely no one look good

    I look like a little girl.  PT outfits were strategically designed to make absolutely no one look good.

  • Fire extinguisher practice
  • Lunch was fine food-wise, but we ate at the university dining hall, and I got made fun of for eating healthy foods instead of stuffing my face with pizza and bacon and cheesy potatoes.  I am not even kidding.
  • “Graduation” was stupid, and my family didn’t even show up because my mom is deaf hard of hearing and misheard the directions during the welcome speech on Friday.  So I trudged out to the street alone with my bags and waited to be picked up.

All in all, fire camp basically sucked.  The free gear was pretty nice, though; I got to keep a gigantic duffel bag, jumpsuit (what am I supposed to do with that?), two T-shirts, a baseball cap, gloves, and safety glasses.

The next post will be a training recap!!  Aka the stuff I actually like to talk about.

 

Leave a Reply

