Good eats and average runs

Every summer, I promise myself, “I will be productive and awesome and go on adventures this summer.”  Every summer, it fails. 😉  I actually did a fair amount of “adventurous” stuff for the first three-ish weeks of this summer, but that has petered off, and I’ve barely done anything eventful all week.  Typical.  I’m leaving for some cabin in the middle of nowhere soon for a few days, so that will be a (hopefully nice) change of scenery.  Apparently, it is at altitude, so running will probably feel harder.

Trivia question of the day:  Where do you find altitude/real mountains in the DMV?  (I’ll give you a hint- nowhere.)

I’m almost finished with my fourth week of base building.  The past few weeks of training have been solid but uneventful; I had two 180-minute weeks in a row, then a 200-minute week.  I’ve taken two off days (as in no running) every week because (1) it was the first week back, (2) NYC, and (3) firefighting camp.  This week also includes five running days and two off days for a total of 215-220 minutes plus about 150 minutes of cross training.  Throw in some strength work and abs every couple days and there we go.

Finally some abs (they disappear when I don't flex, though) ;)

Finally some visible abs! (flexing really hard though…)

Week 4:

  • Sunday:  Laps at the pool after returning from fire camp
  • Monday: 40 minutes moderate, abs, push-ups.
  • Tuesday: 11-minute warm-up, 23 minutes tempo (it was supposed to be 25 but I physically and mentally could not do the last two uphill minutes), 10-20 minute walk/jog/die cool down.
  • Wednesday: Strength work at the gym + abs
  • Thursday: 45 minutes running + 40 minutes aqua jogging + abs
  • Friday: 45 minutes running, abs
  • Saturday (planned): 40 minutes running + strength work at the gym
  • Sunday (planned): off

I bought a monthly subscription to Flotrack so that I could waste even more time with running-related features like the whole “Driven” series.  Cam Levins used to run 190 miles a week?????  Three runs per day!? That is approximately 6.3 times my weekly mileage.  It takes me a month and a half to run that many miles… We’re a very low mileage program, but still.  Wow.

Some favorite foods and a picture of the pathetic creature that is my dog:

photo 2-5

Waffles, chocolate chips, and peaches ❤

photo 5-3

Perfect salad

 

The best dinner...you can't go wrong with salmon

The best dinner…you can’t go wrong with salmon

 

I've eaten the same thing for lunch every day for the past two weeks........

I’ve eaten the same thing for lunch every day for the past two weeks……..Don’t worry, this isn’t my whole lunch.

photo 3-4

If you don’t go crazy with the toppings when you get froyo, you’re doing it wrong 😉

I tried to start my summer assignments this week but it's kind of hard when you have this in your lap

I tried to start my summer assignments this week but it’s kind of hard to read Henry IV when you have this in your lap

Oh and here is a selfie because my hair looks really good and a little narcissism is okay ;)

Oh and here is a selfie because my hair looks really good and a little narcissism is okay 😉

In other news, I went to my friends’ combined spontaneous belated birthday party last night and was a little shell-shocked because of so much social interaction.  It didn’t help that half the people there were the hardcore party-every-weekend type that I never talk to and don’t have anything in common with.  Three pieces of cake at 11:30 pm capped quite the “outside-my-comfort-zone” night.  I got through it, though.  Three cheers for introversion!

Time to go plan my strength work session for tomorrow morning.  I never do this and usually rely on my dad to tell me what to do (which annoys him to no end).  Oh, well, you have to be independent sometimes.

 

Leave a Reply

