Time Trial and Shoes

Today was our annual time trial.  We ran around 4:30 pm, aka the hottest part of the day.  Of course, it was the hottest day of the past three weeks 😉 88 degrees that felt like 90 because of the humidity.  Gross.

Our time trial course is two figure eight loops.  By the end of the first loop, I was already dead, and I tried to quit, but my coach wouldn’t let me.  On the second loop, I was pretty much jogging slower than my long run pace, but I somehow managed to finish in 18:58.  18 seconds slower than last year, but it was also a lot hotter and I haven’t had the greatest last few weeks of training.  I’ve had one good run (yesterday) in the past two weeks.  So all things considered, 18:58 isn’t that bad.  I’m still a little mad, though, because I was the third girl to finish.  One friend ran a freaking 18:22 and another friend ran 18:48.  Sheesh.

I tried out my new spikes during the time trial, and they were pretty comfortable.  My feet were on fire, though; that always happens when it’s above 70 degrees.

I got two new pairs of trainers!!  Switching things up from the Mirage; I got one pair of Saucony Guide 7s and one pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire 10s.  I’m really excited to start running in them.

I have a ton of work to do before school starts; I’ve spent probably 20 or 25 hours on my math assignment and still haven’t quite finished.  I also have my EE and Common App.   Fun stuff.

 

Leave a Reply

