Thresholds

Oh, thresholds.  My favorite type of workout.  There’s nothing like good ol’ mile repeats on the track on a dreary Wednesday afternoon.

For my second workout back, we completed 4 x 1 mile with 90 seconds of rest in between.  Nothing fancy, but a nice challenge.  I know most of my teammates dread mile repeats, but I happen to enjoy them.  I love the feeling of pounding out lap after lap after lap until you can barely hold your form and your legs feel like logs.  Then you just have to hold on!

running-track-1

Since we are all coming back from down time, our paces were slower than they normally are, which is fine by me since I don’t wish to push too hard too soon.  On Monday, thanks to some uncontrolled, overzealous teammates, our 400s were much too fast.  That resulted in a not-too-pretty end of the workout.  This time, our teammate, who is pretty much the worst pacer in the history of pacing, was not at practice.  Our coach prescribed me and two other girls a range of 6:31 – 6:44, with the goal of progressively getting faster with the last one being the fastest.

I did get faster each time, but not in the range.  😉  My first mile was a 6:37, and then I went 6:32, 6:29, and 6:20.  I just felt so stinkin’ good!  I don’t feel like I pushed extremely hard or anything, which is great.  I ended the workout with an 800m cool down and some core, and I am now looking forward to the upcoming days.  This season is important for my mental outlook; you need a strong, positive mentality in order to succeed in a healthy manner, and I think I’ve lacked that for months.  Taking my time and being smart in workouts is definitely helping so far, although it’s still early.

We drove six hours roundtrip for a college tour yesterday, but it was worth it because it is definitely my favorite so far.   Unfortunately, I didn’t get much homework done and had to run on the treadmill at 8:30 pm last night when I got home!  After some speed strength, I tried to get as much work done as I could in the short hour that I had before starting to get ready for bed.

Nighttime treadmilling

Nighttime treadmilling

I have a Topics essay tomorrow (and I had one today, oh joy) as well as an enormous physics project due, so I will leave it at that.  I hope to write soon!

Leave a Reply

