Anterior tibial tendonitis

I went to the orthopedist yesterday, and after several examinations of my right foot, he determined that I had anterior tibial tendonitis exacerbated by the overpronation that happens when I run, walk, and even stand.

The anterior tibial tendon is in the front of your ankle and top of your foot, and its main task involves lifting the foot up.   Tendonitis in this area can occur from activities such as running and walking.  Go figure!!

The orthopedist told me that the estimated recovery is…not really anything specified.  It can be anywhere between one week and six weeks.  Therefore, my plan of action involves pool running until the pain is completely gone, then some elliptical, then the transition back into running.

I haven’t made a decision regarding regionals yet.  Regionals is next Thursday, and I haven’t done a track workout since the 2 x 1000 I did last Tuesday.  I’ve done some easy runs since then, but absolutely nothing strenuous.  I honestly don’t know what kind of shape I’m in right now, or what kind of shape I’ll be in in a week.

Yesterday, I did a nighttime pool workout meant to mimic the track workout my teammates were doing.  I did: 2 x [1:30 hard, 1:00 easy, 2:00 hard, 1:00 easy, 1:30 hard, 1:00 easy, :40 hard, 1:00 easy].  I wasn’t that tired at the end, so I tacked on another 1:30 hard, 1:00 easy, :40 hard, 1:00 easy.  It definitely got my heart rate up, and it was more work than I’d done in a week!

Today involves 30-40 minutes of pool running, and we’ll see what happens on Thursday and Friday.  If there’s zero pain between now and Friday, I might try a few 400s on the track.  That probably won’t happen, though.  I’m really trying to be careful, although I’m also worried about regionals.  It is not that big of a deal if we don’t make it to indoor states in the relay.  It’s better that we don’t make it than we do make it and I’m out for the rest of outdoor or something.

My big TOK essay is due tomorrow, so I’m going to spend the rest of the time between now and when the pool opens working on it (or pretending to work on it!)  The pool doesn’t open until 5:30, so I’ve had two and a half hours to kill.

Leave a Reply

