Fitness update (TL;DR: I’m a moron)

I have come to the conclusion that the universe is against me when it comes to running. (This is going to be a very pessimistic post ūüėČ )

I stopped my normal training volume at the end of January, and cross trained/biked/ran easy a few times for five weeks. ¬†I hoped that backing off would make the tendonitis/bunion pain/etc. go away, but I wasn’t cautious enough.

States was postponed by 1.5 weeks, and I ran a 2:24 800 leg a week and a half ago.

We then took a week completely off: no running, no cross training, no strength training.

Last Monday, I jumped back into running too quickly (5 miles) and strained my hip flexor.  I iced/rolled/stretched a lot on Monday and Tuesday, and ran easy on Tuesday.  I completed a track workout (8x400m) on Wednesday, starting at 85 and working my way down to 77.

After the workout, my legs felt great but sore from lunges on Tuesday.  I had my mom give me a massage.

The massage aggravated my piriformis muscle, causing intense pain whenever I walked, carried a backpack, or¬†sat down. ¬†I was in a lot of pain on Thursday and didn’t run.

Yesterday, practice was cancelled, so I took another day completely off.

My hip and feet felt great today, so I was going to run about 30 minutes very easy.  Unfortunately, I got sick.  Another day of no running.

 

Total tally: it has been about eight weeks since being able to really train.  I somehow busted out a decent time in the 800 a week and a half ago, and I idiotically jumped back into training last week.

 

Soooo….

it’s time to be smart. ¬†I’ve wasted too much time being stupid and dangerous and hurting my body. ¬†It’s been two months since real training, so obviously I have to be more cautious. ¬†I’ve taken three days off and am going to a sports massage therapist tomorrow. ¬†Then, I plan to run extremely short and extremely easy since I’ve had a few days with no pain.

Leave a Reply

