Graduation (not mine) and 80 percent humidity

So I ended up taking nine or ten days off from running, and I did various core and strength routines over that break.  I don’t get my official training schedule until after I graduate, so this week is sort of in limbo as far as running goes (since I graduate on Thursday and am not really supposed to be running until the end of the week).

Even with that guideline, I still started running yesterday with a simple 35-minute run.  It was hot and humid, and I was drenched by the end!  I ran for 35 minutes again this morning, but it was even hotter and more humid, and it did not feel great at all.  Could’ve been worse, though.

My legs are tired and a little sore from all the sidewalk pounding, so I may just swim tomorrow.  I probably won’t run on Thursday or Friday because graduation is Thursday and our class has an all-night boat party, so running on Friday is not the best idea!  But I’m not too worried about running a lot this week because I don’t have to be running as summer training technically starts next week.

Anyway, the past few weeks have been relatively uneventful; we had our senior picnic last Tuesday, some friends and I had a small “middle school clique” reunion (we were definitely clique-y) over the weekend, I worked on my book some more (21,000 words!), took my dog to the dog park, went to the mall to find a graduation dress (I didn’t find one…I DESPISE shopping)… nothing too stressful, thank goodness.

Our friend just had ACL surgery, so we tried to push her around in a wheelbarrow (it did not work)

Our friend just had ACL surgery, so we tried to push her around in a wheelbarrow (it did not work)

Doofus dog was very excited to go to the dog park

Doofus dog was very excited to go to the dog park

Although he is the king of flopping around pathetically so that everyone in the vicinity knows just how pathetic he is.

IMG_5633

I ate some good food.

IMG_5632

PB&J, sauteed kale, plain Greek yogurt with blueberries

IMG_5620

Smoothie: banana, frozen raspberries, frozen blueberries, a splash of orange juice, a spoonful of Greek yogurt

IMG_5609

Strawberry shortcake with fresh-picked strawberries from an orchard!

IMG_5606

Whole wheat toast with tomato, mozzarella cheese, and basil (toasted), with pineapple on the side

I need to get used to waking up at or before 7 am every day again!  The humidity and heat are unbearable at all times of the day, so the ideal time to run is like 3 am, but obviously that’s not going to happen.  I’m trying to get out the door by 7:40 every morning, with the goal of getting up a little bit earlier each day to try to beat the heat.  One can hope…

Tonight was my youngest brother’s elementary school graduation!  After twelve years at that elementary school, our family is done.  Crazy.

IMG_5760

IMG_5767

Nice photo with grandma…

...although this is more typical (they were pinching me and I fell down)

…although this is more typical (they were pinching me and I fell down)

Well, I need to be off to bed as I have a 6:50 am wake-up call.  Yay running?

 

 

Leave a Reply

