Summertime tiredness

Happy day after Father’s Day!

(PS, I did end up running on Friday.  Watchless approximately 4 mile easy run with my friend.)

Saturday was a ridiculously long day.  We celebrated Father’s Day a day early by doing all sorts of activities that my dad enjoys.  We woke up at 6:30 am and he picked us up a little past 7 am, and then we were off to go pick blueberries an hour away.  After picking blueberries, we parked 2.6 miles away from Harper’s Ferry, and we were off on a family bike/run on the C&O canal.

IMG_5865

Screenshotted a Snapchat video… terrible quality

They all biked while I ran, and the canal path was shady and cool since it’s near the water, so the run was nice.  Except we got to Harper’s Ferry and after visiting Jefferson’s Rock, my dad and brother decided to desert my other brother and me for 45 minutes, and I didn’t have my phone, so that was fun.  Turns out they decided to get ice cream and walk around a different way after leaving Jefferson’s Rock.

IMG_5866

We then biked/ran back to the car (my run ended up being 2.6 miles to Harper’s Ferry at an 8:07 pace, a loooong walking/climbing/sitting break at Harper’s Ferry, and then 2.6 miles back to the car at a 7:35 pace) and went to lunch.

After that, we drove some more and visited my grandmother, then headed home.  Whereupon I hopped in the shower, threw my stuff together, and headed off to drive a bunch of friends and myself to the Hozier concert an hour away!

IMG_5887

Yes, she did wear running clothes to a concert

The concert was pretty fun, although there were intense thunderstorms the whole time.  The picture above was taken at 7 pm, the concert was supposed to start at 8, but it didn’t start until 9:30.  We stayed in the car and walked around in the thunderstormy darkness while we waited.  It was insane.  The grassy hill turned into a mud pit, and we stood in a downpour the entire time Hozier was onstage.

IMG_5890It was worth it, though, because he was AMAZING.  He sounded exactly the same live as he does in his recorded songs, and he wasn’t too hard on the eyes either 😉

Very rough 11 pm picture in a torrential downpour

Very rough 11 pm picture in a torrential downpour

It took at least half an hour to get out of the parking lot, and by the time I dropped all my friends off and got back to my house, it was almost 1 am.  I fell dead asleep pretty much immediately.

I haven’t gotten my training schedule yet, so I just did 5 miles this morning, along with 45 push-ups.  The run was rough because it was really hot and sunny and humid, and I need to get back into my normal sleep schedule (the past few days I’ve gone to bed at 5:15 am, 10 pm, and 1:30 am).  I also need to get back into my normal food routine and keep myself accountable!  I’ve been eating a ridiculous amount of fruit (read: 12 fruits per day…) and unhealthful things such as a gyro and french fries and a chicken wing and pizza.

Today’s food so far:

  • Breakfast: Oatmeal with peaches, banana, strawberries, almond butter, and cinnamon; homemade blueberry muffin
  • Lunch: leftover steak with Montreal seasoning, onions and mushrooms, swiss chard, peas, and a giant baked sweet potato; homemade chocolate brownie.

This week is pretty low-key; events on my schedule (besides running/strength of course) include babysitting, doing housework, catching up on sleep, going to the library, and going to the pool to both swim and relax.  A lot of my friends are at beach week or otherwise preoccupied, so I’m not going to be going out a lot this week.  Fine by me!  My beach week is in two weeks, and I am so excited.

Happy beginning of summer!

Leave a Reply

