First week of training

Well, I just wrapped up my first week of college cross country training with seven miles at an 8:06 average pace on my typical long-run route.  It was really tiring, so I probably should have taken it slower.  I had a pretty big negative split (that always happens…oops), which isn’t bad, but it’s not quite what I wanted to do, either.  Mentally, it wasn’t the greatest run, especially because my dad called and yelled at me in the middle of it, then hung up.  Twice.  Yay.

long run blog

Oh, well!

Training week recap:

  • Monday: 5 miles at 8:05 average pace, partially on the bike trail and partially on our cross country course
  • Tuesday: 4.65 miles at about an 8:30 pace with some former teammates at their captain’s practice
  • Wednesday: 5 miles at a 7:49 average pace
  • Thursday: 25 minutes swimming (I was supposed to do an hour, but I got kicked out because there was a dive meet)
  • Friday: 6 miles at a 7:57 average pace on the bike trail.  Was not an easy effort. 30 minutes swimming.  10 minutes of yoga.
  • Saturday: An hour of lifting at the gym in the morning, 32 minutes stationary biking in the afternoon.
  • Sunday: 7 miles at an 8:06 average pace (big negative split 28:53/27:56).  Very tiring…

Overall: 27.65 miles running and about 90 minutes of cross training.

Things I need to keep in mind:  Have more easy effort days!  Even if I’m going an “easy” pace, it does not mean that I’m exerting an “easy” effort.  Some days, easy pace is 7:45/mile, while on others, it could be 8:30 or even 9:00/mile.  I only had like one or two “easy” days this week, and I think I should have three so that my long run is less devastating.  Hard efforts every day are BAD.

My training plan started me out with low mileage this week, but I’m grateful for that because a) it’s the first week, so I should be running low mileage and b) there’s a lot more cross training built into the schedule than I’m used to.  I’m not very good at biking, but I had a bad reaction to the chlorine at our pool which resulted in me being covered in itchy welts all over my body, including my eyelids. (I’m still covered in them right now; I want to tear my skin off).  So I’m going to be spending a lot of time on the bike over the upcoming weeks, and I need to be running low mileage at the beginning in order to get used to that.  Cross training is tiring!

Well, it’s off to the farmer’s market for me!

Leave a Reply

