Belated Beach Week

Finally, some non-running-related stuff!  Sort of.  I’ll throw in some random running tangents here and there.

I spent last week with two friends in Cape Cod!  One of my friends has a house there, so my other friend and I flew/drove up on Monday.  We were there for six days, and we drove back on the seventh (Sunday).  Two girls driving + four or five breaks to switch drivers and eat lunch and use the bathroom and get gas = 10.5 hours in the car.  Needless to say, I can never listen to “Bad Blood”, “Shut Up and Dance”, or “Honey I’m Good” ever again.  Those three songs played approximately 52 times each throughout the course of the drive back.

Theme songs for the trip: “Cheerleader” by OMI, “Forever” by Chris Brown, and “Often” by The Weeknd.

IMG_6028

Being at the airport at 6:30 am is not her favorite thing

Our friend picked us up at the airport

Our friend picked us up at the airport

We pretty much headed for the beach the second we got there…

IMG_6041 IMG_6043And I promptly ripped open my knee and foot while boogie boarding.

IMG_6049

Being the basic eighteen-year-olds that we are, we took a lot of pictures!  Here are some not-so-good ones for your amusement:

IMG_6104

IMG_6207

Along with some better ones!

IMG_6157IMG_6191IMG_6212

Proud bc no makeup

Proud bc no makeup

While I did stick to my running schedule (and actually managed to cross train 3 times that week!), I also indulged in a lot of treats such as ice cream, cheesecake, a brownie sundae, and fudge.

IMG_6224

really good cheesecake!

We didn’t go completely crazy, though; roasted carrots were a staple almost every night because they were so so delicious, and I also ate a tub of kale the day before we left.  Sweet potatoes and oranges were rampant as well 😉  It’s all about that moderation.  Although I did gain a couple pounds.

There weren’t any bowls at the house that were big enough to hold my breakfast, so I ate oatmeal off of a plate because I’m really cool.

IMG_6231

Oatmeal, almond butter, strawberries, blueberries, and cinnamon

We spent hours and hours at the beach (one of my friends could tan for the rest of her life if she felt like it; meanwhile, I’m bored after twenty minutes) and the pond/lake.  While us half-Asians just got tan, our other poor friend resembled a tomato after a particularly long day on the sand.

We went shopping in this preppy rich-people area, but all we bought were books and coffee and really soft Cape Cod sweats because they were on sale.  Oops.  Not about to pay $300 for a cashmere sweater, sorry.  Or $4,752 for a lamp.  I am not even kidding.

I ran to the beach one day (sort of- it was only 4.87 miles there, so I ran back and forth until I got to eight) and then had to walk 2 more miles on the side of the road because I’d gone to a different beach than the one my friends were at.

I could probably write a lot more, but it’d be pretty boring, so that’s all for now!  I’ll try to catch up on my blog posts (I’m at least two behind), so the next one will be training-related.

 

 

 

One thought on “Belated Beach Week

Leave a Reply

