Busy summer days and trying Krav Maga

Goodness, the last two days have been busy!

I woke up on Thursday at 6:50 am, and it was 68 degrees and only about 50 percent humidity.

A miracle!!

I had already decided that I would be going faster on this run than I had run in about two weeks, and the brilliant weather just made me even more excited.

Obviously, this wasn’t going to be a tempo run, since I’m not allowed to do workouts yet.  It definitely felt like I was going fast right from the get-go, but the first mile was only an 8:10!  How strange.  The rest of the run was quite a bit faster, though.

6miiiiIt felt easy/moderate until about mile 4, and then it felt moderately hard, mostly because it was completely uphill all the way back…

elev

All in all, it was a nice run, a little bit quicker than I’ve been doing, but my legs still felt good at the end.  I did 4 strides on an uneven field after I finished the six miles, but I kept slipping and sliding because the grass was wet.

After I picked my brother up from Tae Kwon Do camp, we biked to the pool, and I swam for 30 minutes while he dove and played Categories.  We then biked home, where I had a quick dinner and then went to a Krav Maga class!

It was unlike anything I’d ever tried- not typical martial arts at all.  We practiced “on top” defense, and “on the bottom” defense.  Definitely a great anger outlet!  I was pummeling my partner with kicks.

After myriad physical activities on Thursday, I woke up Friday feeling fairly tired.  After discovering that Mother Nature had given me an extra-special gift this month (ow-cramps), I walked my dog, walked my brother to TKD camp, and then biked to my old high school to meet up with my friend Craig.  I had to do eight miles, so he biked while I ran.  I tragically, accidentally deleted the data from that run, but it was an 8:08 average pace.  The first mile was an 8:42 and the others were between 7:50 and 8:10.  Why is my first mile always so slow compared to the rest of the run?

IMG_6410

Just ignore the caption

We went to Tropical Smoothie and Panera afterwards, and I got a raspberry/strawberry/banana smoothie, mac and cheese, French bread, and a tomato mozzarella flatbread.  It was amazing. Gotta replenish those carbs 😉

IMG_6407

We had a very heated discussion about utensil usage in the consumption of macaroni and cheese because Panera gives you a spoon.  After polling our friends, my side (spoons) lost dismally to forks.  But…why would you not use a spoon?  A spoon makes so much more sense than a fork!  That way, you don’t lose any of the sauce or drop any pasta!  I don’t understand the fork argument.  Maybe if you’re eating Kraft mac and cheese (blech) and spearing the noodles on the fork prongs…  Someone convince me.

I was very exhausted when I got home, so I tried to take a nap but was unable to fall asleep.  Finally, I gave up and went to the gym to do my lower body strength routine, which resulted in a very sore lower body.  I’ll do another post about my upper and lower body strength routines.

I took an ice bath and was too tired/lazy to make anything legitimate for dinner, so I had two toasted sandwiches made from French rolls, heirloom tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, and balsamic vinegar.  I also had milk, blackberries, and carrots, and then Ugandan dark chocolate (it was on sale at Harris Teeter, okay) and a peach for dessert.

IMG_6414

Not the prettiest sandwiches in the world

Yay for busy summer days!  Five days until California!

Leave a Reply

