Training week 5 (35 miles)

Week 5 of cross country base-building brought a slight decrease in mileage and intensity.  I didn’t do too many hilly runs, although I did have a couple faster runs.

Week 5 recap:

Monday 7/21: 5 miles @ 8:32 average pace
Tuesday: 7 miles @ 8:13 average pace, 40 min biking, upper body strength
Wednesday: 50 minutes of stationary biking, 10 minutes of lateral elliptical
Thursday: 6 miles @ 7:30 average pace, 50 minutes of biking and swimming, 1 hour Krav Maga self-defense class
Friday: 8 miles @ 8:08 average pace, 25 minutes of biking, lower body strength
Saturday: off
Sunday: 9 miles @ 7:59 average pace (last mile was 7:30)

Total: 35 miles of running, 175 minutes cross training, 60 minutes Krav Maga

Comments: I did a lot more cross training this week than last week, which was partially unintentional and partially because I was running less mileage.  Monday and Tuesday weren’t very good runs (as usual), but Thursday was really great.  Friday’s run felt good until about mile 6, when I started getting really dehydrated.  Because I had already done a lot of cross training, I took Saturday completely off (instead of cross training), which made my long run on Sunday feel pretty nice.

long run sundayy

We went to brunch at a place that was 8.16 miles away from my house, and it was really straightforward to get there via running, so I just ran there!  I made up the last 0.84 miles when I got there.  Kind of sprinted the last 0.15 or so because I just wanted to eat. 😉 Refueled with eggs, orange juice, and buttery blueberry pancakes.

I’m actually going back to that exact same restaurant for breakfast tomorrow morning because I’m having brunch with some of my new teammates that live in my area!  I’m excited 🙂

Three days until California!!

Leave a Reply

