Training week 6 (38 miles)

Greetings from Santa Clarita, California!  We arrived on Thursday night, and eleven hours later, I was running eight miles alongside the dry Santa Clara river.

IMG_6455

 

Week 6 recap:

Monday 7/27: 5 miles @ 8:15 average pace, 40 minutes stationary bike
Tuesday: AM 7 miles @ 8:02 average pace, PM 2 miles on an indoor gym-floor track @ 7:20 average pace, upper body strength
Wednesday: 60 minutes cross training (biking and swimming)
Thursday: 6 miles @ 7:55-8:00 pace (watch malfunctioned)
Friday: 8 miles @ 7:51 average pace, squats and lunges, 40 minutes swimming
Saturday: off (a lot of time in the pool, though)
Sunday: 10 miles @ 8:14 average pace

Total: 38 miles running, about 160 minutes of cross training

Comments: For the first time this summer, Tuesday’s run(s) were not too bad!  I had my first double on Tuesday, and the seven miles in the morning felt pretty good.  I went to the gym in the afternoon to do my strength routine, so I was just going to run two miles on the treadmill, but they were all full, so I had to run around the “track” that’s actually a gym floor.  My right ankle/shin was not pleased.

On Thursday, I ran 6 miles with my friend Sarah before I left for California.  We got to California around 11 pm Eastern time, 8 pm Pacific time.  I did 8 miles on Friday morning.

IMG_6464

Saturday was my off day, but I went to the pool for 2.5 hours with my brother and my cousins, and I actually did a lot of swimming/aqua jogging.  My cousin plays water polo, so she can tread water for hours! (Maybe not.  But definitely much longer than I can.)

IMG_6495

Sunday’s run was my first solo 10-miler.  Obviously, I’ve done ten miles before (two weeks ago), but I ran eight of those miles with Sarah, so today was my first time doing it alone.  I’m guessing this is because of the drought, but southern California’s bike paths present a distinct lack of water fountains!  After 7.5 miles of blazing sun and the dry sandy river, I was very dehydrated.  Finally, I randomly stumbled upon the only water fountain that exists (just kidding).  Thank goodness.  I guzzled the water and finished up the last 2.5 miles without the fear of passing out from dehydration 🙂  I started the run pretty conservatively, and for the most part, each mile was faster than the last.  My legs and breathing felt good, but my right ankle/foot was still bothering me.  I’ll ice it and elevate it.

IMG_6510

The run was very flat (until the end).  By the way, that’s a river on the right

long run 8:2

Real talk:  I haven’t been eating the healthiest, just because I’m on vacation and most of my family here (along with their friends) like to have parties and get-togethers and barbecues and breakfasts.  To be honest, I’m not 100 percent content with my body, etc., right now because I’ve never weighed this much, am not eating particularly well, and am no longer “skinny.”  I ate so much last night (hamburgers, potato salad, apple crisp, the whole nine yards) on my off day.  But I have to look at my awesome recent runs, the fact that I’m getting stronger and still looking forward to running (unlike last year), and then laugh in the face of my bad body image.  Really, four or five pounds and bigger quads are not a big deal. It’s all muscle anyway. 😉

We leave for Mount Whitney tomorrow, so I’m not really sure how I’ll fit all my runs in during this coming week.  I’m starting workouts, running six days instead of five, and hitting 40 miles for the first time, and I don’t think the bears and coyotes and snakes that frequent the area will be conducive to my training 😉 Also the fact that I’ll be on the tallest mountain in the continental United States… yeah.

There’s only a couple weeks until I move in to college and get to see all my teammates!  Breakfast last week was really fun, and I can’t wait to meet everyone else.

Until then, I’ll try not to get eaten by a bear or coyote.

 

Leave a Reply

