Training week 7 (40 miles)

Welcome to the end of Week 7!  I officially hit 40 miles for the first time!!

Week 7 recap:

Monday 8/3: 5 miles @ 8:26 average pace
Tuesday: 7 mile workout (1.5 warm-up, 6 x 3:00 tempo, :90 easy/off, 2.12 cool down), 7 miles hiking from Mt. Whitney campground to Lone Pine Lake and back
Wednesday: off
Thursday: 6 miles @ 8:22 average pace, 40 minutes swimming
Friday: 9 mile workout (3 miles warm-up @ 8:30 pace, 3 miles tempo @ 6:48 pace, 3 miles cool down @ 9:18 pace)
Saturday: 3 miles @ 8:29 average pace
Sunday: 10 miles @ 7:48 average pace

Total: 40 miles running, 40 minutes swimming, 7 miles hiking

Comments:  This week was pretty tiring; I only had one complete rest day (Wednesday) because I had to run 3 recovery miles on Saturday to hit my mileage for the week. I didn’t do much cross training because we were at Whitney.  Tuesday was my first college workout!

workout tuesday

Tuesday’s interval workout. Light blue = pace. Dark blue = elevation.

 

On Thursday, my brother was supposed to bike next to me, but he didn’t actually end up really doing that.  Don’t tell my mother.  Long story short, he’s kind of an idiot.

Yeah, I did my strides here.  No big deal ;) source: http://www.itoda.com/photos/eastern-sierra/AlabamaHillsRecreationArea.html

Yeah, I did striders here. No big deal 😉
source: http://www.itoda.com/photos/eastern-sierra/AlabamaHillsRecreationArea.html

On Friday, I had my first tempo run.  In high school, my tempo runs were 10 minutes warm-up, 20 minutes tempo, 10 minutes cool down for a total of about five miles.  This was my first time having six extra miles to run outside of the tempo (for a total of nine miles), and the last three miles were absolutely killer!  My legs would just not move- I was crawling along the sidewalk.  #lacticacidprobs.  Oh well, it was supposed to be a cool down anyway…

tempo run fridayThis week was my first time not having two non-running days because I ran three miles on Saturday.  I just ran recovery pace along the sidewalk, so it was not difficult at all, but it was one of those days where I just wanted the run to be over.

This morning was my ten-miler.  I wore a water belt for the first time ever because SoCal is dry and lacks water fountains (although I ran a new route that actually had a lot of water fountains…), and I felt like a marathon mom with my snazzy blue bottles.  The extra pound and a half or however much it weighed made me feel like I was going super slow and couldn’t lift my legs, so I was pretty surprised to see my average pace at the end! (I don’t look at my watch while I run, except to check for the turnaround point.)  My pace was like 25 seconds faster than last week!  I even had a random 7:24 mile thrown in the middle of this run.

fast ten miler

Exactly the last half mile of my long run was straight up a steep hill, and I almost chickened out and ran longer along the flat sidewalk on the main road so that I could be done before the hill.  However, I reached the bottom of the hill and thought, “no, I’m better than that.  I can conquer this.”  So I selected “Till I Collapse” by Eminem on my running playlist and pounded up the hill with the music blasting in my ears.  THE HILL WAS REALLY DIFFICULT.  I climbed 190 feet after already having run 9.5 miles.

My go-to hill song

My go-to hill music

I ate a lot of food this week, including some stuff I probably shouldn’t’ve eaten but did anyway.  Last night, I fueled up for my long run with spaghetti and meatballs, a ginger ale float, and strawberry shortcake.  That ginger ale was the first or second soda I’ve had in the past year!  I had Starbucks (mocha with extra whipped cream) and Panera (lentil quinoa broth bowl with chicken) and even a tiny bit of Chinese food (orange chicken and sweet shrimp) after my long run today, but it’s cool.  Moderation 😉

I also ate a lot of salad, fruit, and the rainbow trout that I caught.  My brother and I used to eat the fish eyeballs when we were little.  It’s hard to get much fresher than that!

IMG_6604

transformation tuesday…

IMG_6867

Sorry, all you ethical vegetarian/vegan types

Next week is more of a “recovery” week, so my mileage is decreasing to 35 miles.

TWELVE DAYS UNTIL I GO TO COLLEGE!  I’m ridiculously excited.

 

Leave a Reply

