Anniversary + pace run

Happy two-year anniversary!  I can’t believe I’ve had this little corner of the Internet for two years now.

In my one-year anniversary post, I said something like “I’ve come a long way.”  That was a lie.  I had no idea that my senior year would be such a struggle.  Now I know better than to make pronouncements about coming a long way, since I have no idea what’s going to happen.  So I’ll satisfy myself with the knowledge that I’ve come a tiny way since I started the blog. 🙂

At this time last year, I had just finished my highest mileage week and was so tired of running.  I also had an allergic reaction or some shit to a mosquito bite and my ankle swelled up disgustingly.  Should’ve known that I would grow to hate running for a little period of my life…

Enough with that!   I’m currently sitting in LAX with nothing to do for another half hour until my plane boards, so I thought I’d type up a quick blog post.  Yesterday’s run was not fun at all; I slept in until 8 am and didn’t eat before the run, and the entire time I was running I just wanted to be done because my legs felt like they had bricks tied to them and I seemed to have forgotten how to use my arms.  I felt marginally better by the end (woo, endorphins) and did barefoot strides in the park in the canyon behind my grandma’s house.  5 “recovery” miles at 8:15 pace.  I managed to keep in mind that it made sense for me to feel so gross since I’d done 10 miles in 78 minutes the day before.

I woke up at 5 am this morning so that I could get my workout in before we left for the airport.

pace run

I had seven miles for the day, so I did two miles warm-up, three miles pace run, and two miles cool down.  It was 55 degrees (!!) and pitch black outside when I started running, so I got to watch the sunrise during my warm-up.  At 5 am, there was hardly anyone on the bike trail.

Warm-up: 2 miles at 8:48 pace
Pace run: 3 miles at 6:35 average (6:56, 6:41, 6:11)
Cool down: 2 miles at 8:15 pace

pace run splitsI was surprised that my last mile was so fast (faster than my 5k PR pace, actually!).  I was aiming for a 6:25 or so, but I think it was flatter/more downhill than the other two miles.  This workout felt a lot better than my tempo run last Friday.

Tomorrow is an off day from running (60 minutes of cross training), and I’m happy about that because we’re getting home at like 11 pm Eastern time.  Can’t wait to sleep in my own bed!

TEN DAYS UNTIL COLLEGE!  I still have so much dorm shopping to do.

Leave a Reply

