Training Week 8 (35 miles)

Sorry this post is a day late!

View from the airplane on Tuesday

Racing the sunset (Tuesday evening airplane ride)

Yesterday’s long run wrapped up my eighth week of college summer training.  Mileage dropped down last week to 35 miles.

Week 8 recap:

Monday 8/10: 5 miles @ 8:17 average, 40 minutes swimming
Tuesday: 7 mile workout (2 miles warm-up, 3 miles progressive pace run, 2 miles cool down)
Wednesday: off
Thursday: 6 miles @ 7:50 average, 30 minutes biking (not all at once)
Friday: AM 2 miles warm-up, 4 x 4:00 hard, 1:00 easy, 1.5 cool down, PM 1.5 miles @ 8:15 pace (total 8 miles)
Saturday: off
Sunday: 9 miles @ 8:11 average

Total: 35 miles running, 70 minutes cross training

Comments: I felt pretty good during this recovery week, except for my long run.

Classy sign from Tuesday's cool down

Classy sign from Tuesday’s cool down

On Wednesday, I was supposed to do 60 minutes of cross training, but I was jet-lagged and the gym was closed and I didn’t want to swim laps, so I took a complete rest day and dorm shopped at Target during my cross training time.  Oh well 😉  Thursday was a boringly good run.

CONSISTENT AFI went to my high school’s cross country practice on Friday, and they were doing almost the exact same workout that I had on my schedule, so I just hopped in with them!  It was great to see my old coaches.

intervalllll af copy

The intervals graph (pace = light blue) always amuses me.  Also, I don’t think my watch understood that I was on a flat track… (elevation= dark blue)

On Sunday, I did my long run with my favorite long run buddy Laura for the last time before I leave for college (*cries*).  But it was just one of those days where my legs were dead!

IMG_7003

long run with laura

I’ve been packing like a madman since I leave for college at 5:30 am on Friday.  I’m sad to be leaving the place I’ve lived for eighteen years, but I am SO excited to see my teammates, coaches, dorm mates, and everyone else!

IMG_6999

Necessity for my dorm room

Yes, I am bringing my shark footie pajamas to college

Yes, I am bringing my shark footie pajamas to college

Last night was my family farewell dinner since my brother has marching band from 3-9 pm every day this week.  I definitely don’t miss those days (I quit marching band after sophomore year since the marching band/cross country double is absolutely impossible to manage without dying at my high school).  Anyway, I had herb-pesto salmon, roasted zucchini, mushroom ravioli, and an exorbitant amount of bread and olive oil and calamari.

IMG_7004My youngest brother doesn’t have camp this week, so I’m in charge of coming up with activities (even though it’s my last week at home!!).  Today, we went to the library and the movies.  Fantastic Four failed to impress.

IMG_7008Other activities on tap this week include mini golf, swimming and diving, and the museums and monuments in DC.  He also wants to bake a cake.

This upcoming week is my highest mileage ever (which I was not expecting).  Excited/nervous/excited!

Leave a Reply

