In-season training week 3 (40 miles)

Hello friends!  Fall weather has finally arrived in this college town… almost.  It was 66 degrees this morning and didn’t get hotter than 75 the entire day.  I wore jeans!!

In-season week 3 brought lower mileage, and it seems that my body has finally adjusted to college training! (Knock on wood.)  I’ve felt great on the past few runs, and I’ve really looked forward to each workout.

Week 3:

Monday 9/7: 6 miles @ 7:48 average, drills, strides, strength circuit
Tuesday: 2.5 miles warm-up, 4 x [5:00 hard, 3:00 easy], 5 x [1:00 hard, 1:00 easy] on home course.  8 minutes cool down.
Wednesday: 60 minutes cross training (50 minutes aqua jog + biking to all my classes)
Thursday: 6 miles @ 7:50 average, drills, strides, strength circuit, 30 minutes biking
Friday: 3 miles warm-up, 4 miles pace run @ 6:28 average, 2 miles cool down, leg lift
Saturday: off
Sunday: 10 miles @ 8:05 average

Total: 40 miles running, 90 minutes cross training

Comments:  Guess who skipped her Saturday yoga session this week…this girl.  Sorry coaches!  I did stretch and roll, I just didn’t do any downward dogs or pigeons or trees.

The beginning of this week was rough.  My legs were really heavy on Monday, and I got sick that night, so I had a sore throat and general nausea during Tuesday’s workout.  But I got through it!  All I did was shorten my cool down.  I recovered mostly in the pool on Wednesday, and Thursday’s run was pretty good.

I found myself positively anticipating Friday’s workout as early as Thursday night!  After receiving our gear on Wednesday, the entire team decided to match with our new spandex and neon sports bras.

IMG_0783

I’m third from right

I felt good on the warm-up, although there was a worrisome crackly feeling in my left ankle and arch that I just kind of ignored until it went away.  We started the pace run, and for two miles I felt really good and light on my feet.  My right leg locked up during the second half, but I still finished okay.  We started out faster than we’ve started the past few pace runs (we were right at 6:30 instead of 6:35), and we just maintained that and even sped up a bit.  Overall, it was the fastest average pace my group has run on our pace run, and it was less than 15 seconds off my 5k PR pace…for four miles!

Workout group strong

Chasing the sun- (look up that song by Sara Bareilles, it’s great)

I took Saturday completely off.  This morning, we went to the same place we went for last week’s long run, and I did ten miles again.  We did a slightly different route and took it slower, and I felt amazing!  My legs weren’t even fatigued at the end of the run; it was like I hadn’t even done a long run.  Recovery long runs are my favorite ❤

I love my workout group

I love my workout group (and my dorky happy face)

Nutrition this week has been so-so.  Last night, our recruit arrived around 8, so naturally we went out to eat.  After eating my regular dinner around 6:30, I ate an entire pizza and an entire skillet cookie by myself.  Yes.  The skillet cookies are absolutely amazing: a huge fresh-baked gooey cookie topped with vanilla ice cream.

IMG_7211

I’ve also been eating mishmash lunches in my dorm room for the past few days because I’ve either been a) studying b) the timing has been weird or c) bad weather/laziness meant I didn’t want to walk all the way to the caf.

IMG_7216

PB&J, carrots, snap peas, string cheese, and plain Greek yogurt with blueberries and hemp seeds

I biked to Trader Joe’s in an intense thunderstorm the other day, which was a little bit terrifying and very exhilarating.  I got all the necessities! (And definitely exceeded the weight capacity of eleven pounds for my bike basket.)

IMG_7188

Fridge goals

IMG_7186

My team had a make-your-own pizza party on Friday night, and it was amazing.  Also, random: my butternut squash from last week! Heaven.

IMG_7161

Additionally, our dorm now has an extra resident.

IMG_7167

The little dude has been hanging out outside for a week now.

One last thing before I turn in for the night: I nearly died in my three-hour outdoor biology lab last week.  Skinny jeans, long socks, rubber rain boots, and 96 degree weather.  And when I took off my shoes/pants, I had myriad huge bug bites all around my ankles!  How does that happen!?  That’s exactly why I wore the pants- to prevent that!

IMG_7180

Enough of my complaining.  Off to bed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

