In-season training week 4 (43 miles)

Sorry this post is six days late!

Week 4:

Monday 9/14: 6 miles @ 7:45 pace, drills, strides, strength circuit
Tuesday: 9 miles warm-up, workout, and cool-down.  Workout: 4 x [3:00 hard, 2:00 easy], 3 x [2:00 hard, 1:00 easy, 1:00 hard, 1:00 easy], 5 x [:30 hard, :30 easy]
Wednesday: 60 minutes cross training
Thursday: 3 miles, drills, strides, strength circuit
Friday: AM: 2 miles, PM: 20 minutes warm-up, drills, strides, 5k “race” (19:18), 5 x hill repeats, 20 minutes cool down.  Total: 11 miles
Saturday: 3 miles
Sunday: 11 miles @ 7:30 pace

Total: 43 miles running, 60 minutes cross training

Comments:  The majority of last week was really good!  My runs and workouts felt strong, and I surprised myself in the race.  On Sunday, I did my long run with a really big group of teammates.  We thought we were doing a loop, but we realized when we were six miles from the vans that there was no loop and we were on an out and back.  Six miles back.  Oops.  Four miles later, I felt a stretching, popping feeling behind my right knee, along with immediate pain.  I stopped and stretched and ran one more mile before the pain got too bad and I ended up walking the rest of the way back to the vans.  On the plus side, I set a personal distance record of over eleven miles! (I was only supposed to run ten.)  Of course, our recruit was also running in my group, so I had to clarify that we don’t usually get lost and run way more than we’re supposed to 😉

I have a ton of studying to do since I have three exams next week, so I’m going to get down to that and hopefully recap this past week tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

