The past month

Hi everyone!  Sorry I haven’t blogged in a month!  Training and life have both been a little bit hectic due to various factors, but I have some spare time on this lovely Friday night, so I thought I’d catch up on life.

After the 6k in the middle of October, my coach told me that I had a choice.  I was technically one of the top 12 on the team and could therefore race at conferences, but I wouldn’t race at regionals because I wasn’t top seven.  Therefore, I could either use a whole season of eligibility on one race, or I could redshirt.  Since wasting an entire season of eligibility on one race where I wouldn’t even score didn’t make any sense at all, I chose to redshirt this cross country season.

The week or two following was filled with tons of amazing food, a visit from my best friend from home for homecoming, a trip across the river to the pumpkin patch, schoolwork, and low-key nights with the team as they prepared for conferences and regionals.  Good times.

IMG_7560

I love dogs (this dog lives at my friend’s house)

IMG_7567

Our new horse friend

IMG_7514

Pumpkin patch! The pumpkin ice cream there was AMAZING

IMG_7515

Halloween! Snow White and one of her dwarves, Sneezy (yes, there were seven dwarves)

The week after the 6k, I had a great mile repeats workout where I went 5:58, 5:50, 5:50, 5:50 on a not-completely-flat bike path.  It was hard but a great confidence booster!  I was in the best shape of my life.

Then, I got sick.  I had a hacking cough, sore throat, fatigue, and I got my period at the same time, so it was one of the most miserable weeks of my life.  I felt so poorly that my schoolwork/grades suffered.  Guess it was a good decision not to race at conferences! 😉

After about a week, I was just getting worse, so I graduated from going to the athletic trainer to an actual doctor.  He told me I had a sinus infection that had gravitated downwards and caused my awful cough, and he prescribed me antibiotics.  My head coach is pretty conservative about the whole illness thing, so even though I had the doctor’s permission to run while taking the antibiotics, he limited me to an hour of cross training for several more days.  I completed my first 80-minute cross train on Saturday, November 7th, and it was one of the worst things I’ve ever done.  My friend brought me the best cupcake of my life as a reward!

My team rocked conferences, with both teams destroying the (not very good) competition.

After a week completely off and a week of cross training, I finally started running again last week!

Monday 11/10: 6 miles, lift
Tuesday: 6 miles
Wednesday: 5 miles, lift
Thursday: 6 miles, lift
Friday: 6 miles
Saturday: off
Sunday: 8 miles.

Total: 37 miles

I just did maintenance runs all week, no workouts, so that was fun.

The low point of the entire season occurred at regionals last Friday; one of our top runners found out she had two fractures and therefore couldn’t race, and our team didn’t make NCAAs for the first time in four years.

IMG_7593

NCAA D1 Southeast Regional Championships

It was really sad, especially for the seniors, and the weekend following was insane- physically, emotionally, and otherwise.  It was pretty intense.  Weird things happened.  Weird decisions were made.  I won’t go into detail, but you can imagine.

IMG_7601

Mood-boosting trip to an apple orchard after regionals

But on the plus side, our top runner (not the one with fractures) made NCAAs individually! She got one of two at-large bids given out across the entire country.  She’s amazing, both as a runner and a person.  She will be racing in Louisville tomorrow and vying for her first All-American honors.

Core Four takes Team Thanksgiving <3

Core Four takes Team Thanksgiving ❤

I started workouts again this week; my first one back was Tuesday with 10 x 400 with avg 75 seconds rest.  It actually felt pretty good!  I think I averaged 79 or so- nothing crazy.  Didn’t want to push too hard after three weeks without workouts.

Today, I did 3 x 1000 at 3:37 followed by 5 x 400 starting at 80 and dropping down to 74-75.  2 minutes’ rest between everything, although I took a little extra time after the first 400 because the area near my anterior tibial and peroneal was acting up on my right leg.  Not fun.  After that workout, we had a leg lift, and now my legs are very tired!  I went out to dinner with a few of my teammates, and I had a margherita pizza, spaghetti and meatballs, and a skillet cookie.  Post-workout fuel at its finest. 😉

We are so close to Thanksgiving break, it’s ridiculous.  I have a lot of work to get through over the next few days, but after Tuesday, I get to go home and gorge myself and run on the bike trails I’ve missed for three months and see my dog!

My first race in uniform is two weeks and one day from today.  Excited to get back on the track, and a little apprehensive to see what kind of shape I’m in after my illness and many months away from the track.

 

Leave a Reply

