Bipolar weather, family dysfunction, food, friends, training…

I hope everyone had a merry Christmas!  Mine was…interesting.  Lots of family drama.  Ran with one of my high school teammates that I hadn’t seen since October.   I really wanted to do a Christmas “bun run” (Santa hat, red sports bra, and buns) because it was 70 degrees, but I refrained from doing so.  We did 6 miles at around 8:00 pace.  Not too interesting.

She did take this sneaky picture...do you like my snowman socks?

She did take this sneaky picture…do you like my snowman socks?

On Sunday, 70 degree temperatures left me drenched after my “long” run (8 miles at 7:22 pace) even as the sun went down.

IMG_7989

I told myself to go pretty easy on the long run, but…I didn’t.  Oh, well.  It was a good run.  I tried out the waterproof iPod shuffle and new earbuds I got for Christmas to use for runs and aqua jogging/swimming, and it was great!  The second half of the run was pretty hilly and fast.

lr8

Total last week: 28 miles running, 60 minutes cross training.

This week, my training increases to 37 miles and the normal hour of cross training on Wednesday.  Ideally, I’ll be back at normal mileage (45) in 2 weeks.

After days and days of disturbingly warm temperatures, in the span of 12 hours the temperature dropped from 70 to 40.  Ridiculous.  At least it almost feels like winter…

On Monday morning, I ran with one of my college teammates!  She’s four years older than me and really fast, so I was afraid I’d die from the long run and running with her, but it was actually a very nice run. 🙂 6 miles on the trails around Great Falls Park.

Today was my first workout back!  I warmed up for 2.5 miles to my high school track and did drills and strides.  The workout was 6 x 800m (3:00-2:45) with 1 minute recovery, but I took 80-90 seconds recovery, which I think was a good decision.  The workout went well, even though the track was completely deserted!   The overcast weather wasn’t exactly motivational, but I got it done.

IMG_7995

I ran 2:56, 2:55, 2:56, 2:55, 2:56, 2:55, which is about what I was expecting for the first workout back.  It was a little bit of a shock to the system but overall not too bad at all.  I then cooled down 2.5 miles back to my house and stretched and rolled.  Total: 8 miles.  No ice bath today.

Enjoy this goofy post-workout face I sent to my friend

Enjoy this goofy post-workout face I sent to my friend

Post-workout lunch: Plain Greek yogurt with a banana; orange juice; Ritter Sport Extra Fine dark chocolate (my vice); 2 mini sweet potatoes with a little bit of brown sugar and butter; 2 bowls of black beans and rice (I mixed black beans, cooked brown rice, green peppers, tomatoes, onions, salt and pepper, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and reduced sodium chicken broth and cooked it on low heat for awhile).  The black beans and rice bowls were spicy!

Not pretty but delicious!

Not pretty but delicious!

I’m really going to zero in on my nutrition over the coming days/weeks/months.  After many, many indulgences over the past month, I have some work to do to get back to fueling optimally.  I think I may use this blog as sort of a food log to keep me accountable.  While being home allows me to eat fresher and more organically and all that nonsense, I also have constant access to an unlimited supply of food.  Including way more meat than I was eating over the past several months.  Also, since my time isn’t taken up by schoolwork, I have more time to eat… Needless to say, it’s a slippery slope.

That being said, I reunited with one of my good friends yesterday and ate four pieces of chicken-mushroom-spinach-deliciousness pizza 🙂 Worth it.  But now I’m on the grind.

IMG_7991

One thought on “Bipolar weather, family dysfunction, food, friends, training…

  1. Pingback: ♫Is it too late now to say sorry♫… | runner14girl

Leave a Reply

