Happy New Year! (3 days late…)

Looks like my procrastinatory publishings aren’t going to change much in 2016…

Happy New Year!  Wow.  It’s 2016.  My last full year before my twenties…oh man.

Quick review of 2015:

2015 was full of ups and downs, running and otherwise.  I was accepted into my first choice college and got to join an amazing team that I absolutely love.  I got injured, made stupid decisions, fought with my family, turned eighteen, turned in my IB Extended Essay, went skydiving, graduated high school, received my IB bilingual diploma, went back to California over the summer, lost some friends, gained a lot more, ran more mileage than I ever have in my life, raced my first 6k while redshirting the cross country season, and raced in uniform for the first time.  I finished my first semester of college! (Haven’t worked up the nerve to check my grades yet…)

IMG_0783

2015 has left me half an inch taller, faster, happier (when I’m at school), and more knowledgeable.  I have some vague ideas about resolutions for 2016 but nothing definitive yet.  I’ll let you know as they develop further.


Training recap 12/28–1/3:

Monday 12/28: 6 miles with friend, drills, strides, upper body + abs
Tuesday: 20 min warm-up, drills, strides, 6 x 800m with 80-90s recovery, 20 min cool down.  Total: 8 miles
Wednesday: 60 min XT in pool with friend, 10 min drill, balance circuit
Thursday: 5 miles with friend, drills, strides, upper and lower body strength
Friday: 20 min warm-up, drills, strides, 3 mile pace run (6:35, 6:30, 6:08), 20 min cool down, abs
Saturday: off
Sunday: 10 miles @ 7:22 avg

lrnewyear

Not sure what happened with that 0.02

Today’s Church of the Sunday Long Run wasn’t stellar, but it wasn’t horrible.  My legs felt tired for the first, like, 8 miles… Also, my left Achilles was bothering me, especially during the second half of the run.  You know that feeling where you’re tired on a run so you push it because you think you’re going slow, but it turns out you’re running a completely normal pace so you just end up exhausted from pushing it and going too fast?  Yeah, that about sums up my long run today.

Total for this week: 37 miles running, 60 min XT

Leave a Reply

