Running reunion

Two running reunions happened over the past few days!

IMG_8008

Our dream team from two years ago reunited 🙂  It was great to see all these girls.

The workout today: Winter finally decided to show its face, and it was 15 degrees this morning.  I waited until the afternoon to run, since it was a whopping 30 degrees at that point…

Anyway, 20 minute warm-up to my high school’s track, drills, strides, and then the same 6 x 800 as last week.  My goal was to run it faster, and I did.  2:53, 2:51, 2:52, 2:52, 2:54, 2:51 (compared to 2:55-2:56 last week).  I took 80-90 seconds rest again instead of a minute.  Gotta work down to shorter rest!  It worked for Quenton Cassidy in Once a Runner, amirite…

Too bad I’ll never be a 3:52 miler and also Cassidy doesn’t exist.

Second reunion:  My best friend showed up at the track during my workout, which I was running alone.  Did I ever mention what happened last April on this blog?  No?  Well, this can be my second reflection.  My best friend and I have been running together since 2008, but last April, she tripped over me, tore her ACL and meniscus, and had to defer a year because she was going to a service academy and that incident caused her to fail her medical exam.  So yeah.  I kind of ruined her life.  Luckily, I don’t think she hates me too much…

Anyway, she wasn’t able to run (or even walk) for a really long time but has slowly been building back up.  And today, she came on my cool down with me!! After not running with her for over eight months, those 20 minutes were pretty awesome…

IMG_8067

Total for today: 8 miles + 7 minutes of core.  I kind of forgot that as my mileage increases, the workout-day mileage also increases, so I actually had 9 on my schedule.  Oh, well.  I have 10 scheduled for Friday but only a 4 mile workout (+ 5 miles warm-up/cool down), so depending on how my legs feel, I think I’ll do a double of 8 miles in the morning and 3 in the afternoon to catch up on all my mileage and stay on track for 42.  Or something like that.

Afterwards, we cheered on our high school team during their workout and said hi to the coaches.

IMG_8069

seems counterintuitive…

I received a bunch of Amazon gift cards for Christmas and decided to be adventurous.  Therefore, I bought chia seeds and Wild Friends’ vanilla espresso almond butter.  Living life on the wild side, I know 😉  Anyway, my oatmeal this morning was excellent: 1/2 cup quick oats, 1 cup water, the Wild Friends almond butter, banana, frozen raspberries, chia seeds and cinnamon.  SO GOOD.  For lunch I had leftover roasted brussels sprouts and carrots, sweet potato, Progresso lentil soup, raspberry Fage yogurt, and 1/2 a PB&J.  Post-workout was a KIND bar, cherry Fage, and toasted French bread with olive oil.  And some chocolate chips 😉  Dinner was broiled citrus-garlic salmon, brown rice, and steamed spinach, and dessert was frozen berries.

Yesterday evening, I went to Georgetown with some friends.  We walked around by the river and the canal, and we watched a million police cars and fire trucks and ambulances make a huge scene.  No idea what was going on.  I also got a dark chocolate cupcake.

FullSizeRender

So flattering. The cupcake was very good. (It was NOT Georgetown Cupcake)

Tomorrow I have cross training!

 

Leave a Reply

