Back at school!

I’m finally back at school!!

Yesterday, I went out for my long run around 8:30 before I left to come back to school.  5 miles by myself, 4 miles with my friend, and 2 miles by myself for a total of 11 miles.  It was actually a pretty good run!  I was dreading it a bit because my original long run buddy canceled on me and I couldn’t find anyone to run with and really didn’t want to do another long run by myself, but then I found someone to run with for four miles which helped break up the run.   Aside from the normal bit of tightness, my calf and Achilles didn’t hurt at all!

After the long run, I ate a huge breakfast and finished packing.  Right before we left, it started snowing!!  First snow of the year.  The flurries were barely visible, but it still counts, right?

IMG_8179.jpg

Trust me, it’s snowing!

We finally got on our way, and I made sure to be stocked with great snacks.  Ate the entire bag of sugar snap peas in about ten minutes… Gotta get all the Vitamin C I can before reentering the cesspool of germs that is college dorm life 😉

IMG_8197.jpg

Three hours later, we were at school at Trader Joe’s stocking up on all the essentials.  But finally I was reunited with my adorable roommate.

IMG_8200.JPG

Can you tell we were ecstatic to see each other?

Last week’s training:

Monday: 6 miles, drills, strides, upper body strength
Tuesday: 20 minutes warm-up, 4 x [3 x 400] with increasing rest, 20 minutes cool down, balance circuit.  Total = 9 miles.
Wednesday: 50 minutes stationary bike, upper body drill
Thursday: 6 miles, drills, strides, balance + glutes circuits
Friday: 3 miles warm-up, drills, strides, fartlek (5-8-8-5 with 2 min recovery), 3 miles cool down, abs.  Total = 10 miles
Saturday: off
Sunday: 11 miles

Total: 42 miles, 50 min XT

I had 45 miles on my schedule, but after communicating with my coach about my calf/Achilles discomfort, she told me to feel free to take whatever days off I needed to.  So I took a complete recovery day on Saturday instead of doing the 3 miles on my schedule.  I think it was a good decision!

Anyway, we have practice in less than an hour!! I saw a few of my teammates last night, but I am so excited to see everyone today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

