The Great Treadmill Adventure

Happy National Peanut Butter Day!!  I celebrated by eating peanut butter multiple times today, but my favorite was homemade pumpkin cinnamon peanut butter on a bagel (I just mixed peanut butter, pumpkin puree, and cinnamon).  So good.

IMG_8244.jpg

Well, I can’t say my second semester of college got off to a great start, but it was decent enough.

Especially when the blizzard hit!

Okay, so we only got 5 or 6 inches, unlike the DC area that got clobbered with multiple feet.  My mom sent me this picture of my dog on the front walk:

IMG_0680.JPG

This week was filled with ice skating (and practically getting frostbite) with my wonderful friends…

IMG_8216.JPG

…staying at the caf way too long talking…

IMG_8228.JPG

…pumpkin pie oatmeal at 11:30 pm…

IMG_8239.jpg

…shin pain, snow, catching up with teammates, etc!

Anyway, running was okay this week.  We did a track workout on Tuesday, and after no!! shin!! pain!! all of break, including track workouts, the burning/aching came back halfway through the workout.  I finished it, but it hurt a lot.  I’ve been going to the trainer and doing hip strengthening and stability in case the problem is stemming from my hips, and I will look into orthotics.  Not sure why my legs are complaining now after four years of indoor and outdoor track– you’d think they’d be used to the, uh, track by now!

We did a spirit day for the track workout: Crazy socks!

IMG_8205.jpg

20 minutes warm-up, 4 x 400 @ 81-82 w/ 1 minute rest, 3 x 800 @ 2:44-2:47 w/ 2 minutes rest, 4 x 400 @ 80-82 w/ 1 minute rest, 20 minutes cool down.  We also got a lap between sets.  Total = 9 miles.

The coaches stressed, “Get into a rhythm” for this workout.  The 800s were supposed to be the same pace as the 400s, which is definitely faster than the 800s I did over break!  We were supposed to start at a 400 pace we could hold for the whole workout and just keep it consistent and strong.  The first 800 was on pace (2:44), but the next two were about a second slow per lap (2:46 and 2:47) and pretty tiring.  During the last set of 400s, my shin was really bothering me, but I held it together through the end with only one “eh” 400 (#3 was an 83).  Also, my workout group started at five and dwindled to only two survivors by the end!  Oh, well.  It was still satisfying, and I felt like I was in a good place in-shape-wise.

The ice bath in the arctic tundra afterwards was less than fun, but we stayed warm with $.79 any size coffee/hot chocolate from Wawa 😉

IMG_8206.JPG

This week:

Monday: 6 miles, drills, strides, upper body strength circuit
Tuesday: workout listed above, legs strength circuit
Wednesday: 60 minutes cross training (bike), abs
Thursday: 6 miles trails, drills, strides, upper body strength circuit
Friday: off, abs
Saturday: 45-50 minute pool workout (intervals)
Sunday: 11 miles @ 7:30-7:15 on the treadmill

Total: 32 miles running, 110 minutes XT

I was supposed to race the mile this weekend, so I was supposed to have 4 miles pre-meet on Friday and 9 miles total on Saturday.  However, my coaches changed my schedule to accommodate my shin pain and future family travel issues, and snow day closings led to an unprecedented off day on Friday, so my mileage was unfortunately pretty low.  I did a pool workout on Saturday.

It snowed pretty hard all day Saturday, so this morning I did an 11-mile long run on the treadmill.  Started at 8 mph, ended at 8.3 mph for an average pace in the 7:20s.  I’d never done more than 5 or 6 on the treadmill before, and I did twice that distance this morning!  Honestly, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  Plugged in some great tunes, mostly zoned out, and got it done.  My shin aches a little bit now, but hopefully it will feel better in the coming days.

IMG_8241.JPG

When cross country takes over the treadmills all day…

Sorry, gotta get our long runs in!

We have a delay tomorrow, so I only have one class.  Maybe tonight/tomorrow morning I’ll actually do some homework…maybe…

 

 

Leave a Reply

