The Mile

I raced my very first full mile on Saturday!  Because of my lower leg issues, my coaches and I didn’t decide if I was racing until a couple days before the meet.  I knew I was in decent shape, but I’ve been training more for the 3k and have only been doing one workout per week as a precautionary measure, so I wasn’t really sure what I could do in the mile.

IMG_8249.jpg

The meet was 2.5 hours away and the bus was leaving at 8 am, so after a low-key night of cooked cinnamon apples and Interstellar…

IMG_8255.jpg

I got up at 6:30 to do my shakeout, shower, and eat breakfast.  I ate oatmeal and blueberry acai yogurt for an early breakfast and packed a PB&J, banana, chocolate chip Clif bar, orange, Sabra hummus and pretzels, and another blueberry acai yogurt to bring to the meet.  I ate the banana and half the sandwich about 3 hours before the race.

Two and a half hours later, we rolled up to the meet.  Two of my teammates and I warmed up for about 20 minutes and did dynamic stretches, skips, and strides.  We lined up, the gun went off, and we were off.

I had never raced a full mile before, so it was weird lining up nine meters before the “normal” starting line.  The first lap was a bit of a madhouse, with twelve pairs of elbows flying and legs tripping each other up.  I found myself out in the third lane on the back stretch.  The clock said 40 or 41 as I passed it the first time, and I freaked out that we were going too slow for a second before realizing that-duh- that was for 209 meters.

12688028_1006730532749207_6728974539881596198_n.jpg

I have no idea what my splits were, but I think I passed halfway in 2:38, maybe?  I know my splits dropped off a little in the second half since I stuck behind two girls that were slowing down, but I eventually passed them.

12651210_1006731222749138_7524554132482780305_n.jpg

I waited until 200 meters out to kick even though my coach had wanted me to kick from much farther out, but I passed two more people and crossed the finish line in 5:17.07.

12669713_1006731232749137_4444423484530188753_n.jpg

I was hoping I’d crossed the line at 5:16.xx, but according to online conversions, a 5:17.07 full mile on a flat track converts to 5:15.23 for 1600 meters and 5:13.9 full mile on a banked track!  I’ll take it.  I haven’t even really been doing speedwork or many workouts at all.  It’s a solid point for the first race after break.

Afterwards, we jogged for a few minutes, did 8 minutes at an up-tempo pace (a little slower than pace run pace), and cooled down for about 12 minutes.  Total mileage for the day was about 8.5.

Last week’s training:

Monday: 6 miles, drills, strides, strength circuit
Tuesday: AM: hip stability, strength, ice cup at the trainer.  PM: 20 min w-u, 10 min tempo, 5 x [:60h, :30e], 5 min tempo, 5 x [:60h, :30e] w/ a couple min rest between each thing.  10ish min c-d.  Total: 9 miles
Wednesday: 60 minutes aqua jog, mini run (8 min) at the trainer
Thursday: 6 miles, drills, strides, strength circuit/abs, yoga
Friday: 4 miles pre-meet, strides
Saturday: 2 mile shakeout, 20 min w-u, mile (5:17.07), 22 min workout/c-d. Total: 8.5 miles
Sunday: 9 miles MR+

Total: 42.5 miles, 60 min XT, extra strength

IMG_8269.jpg

Post- 9 mile MR+ treats (the Wawa cup is half coffee, half hot chocolate)

I’ve been absolutely ravenous for the past few days and shoveling in all the fruits and vegetables and yogurt and potatoes and bagels and nut butter and chicken and ice cream I can possibly get my hands on.  I guess we’re hitting that point in training/racing!  The next couple weeks are probably going to hit me pretty hard what with travel, more intense schoolwork, increases in mileage and intensity, and more racing.  I’ll just try to take it as it comes, listen to my body, fuel properly, try to get in a solid sleep routine, and focus on my goals.  We had a team goal session today, and I shared one of my time goals; I’d really like to run 10:15 or faster in the 3k this year.  I shared it.  It’s real.  It’s on the table.  I might race a 3k on Saturday.  I’m feeling good about my fitness right now, so I’d just like to keep taking things as they come and see where that leads me.

Leave a Reply

