Weird Weekends

Pienso que mi cuerpo está roto.

After a weird weekend in which everyone was on different schedules (some went up to Pennsylvania to race, some stayed here to race, I went home for a funeral), the coaches decided not to hold practice today.  My roommate and I wanted to get our long runs over with early, so we went to the track at 8 am.  The only other person there at that time was the fastest person on the team (she runs the 5k in 15:XX).

So… I steeled myself and went off for my long run with her and my roommate (who is known to hammer every single run).

I managed to run with them for 38 minutes on a hilly route.  I haven’t used my GPS in months so I don’t know the *exact* mileage, but that was roughly 5.5 miles (or 6:50 pace).  At that point, shortly after going up a long-ass hill, I died.  I didn’t stop running, but I hit a wall that took about 10 minutes to go away and they went off on their merry way.  I did the last 30 minutes by myself and stopped running at 71 minutes.

Afterwards, we went to Wawa to pick up post-long run goodies! (Of course.)  My friend convinced me to give Quest bars another chance, so I tried the cookies and cream one.  It was actually pretty good, as far as protein bars go.  It was also the last day of Wawa’s $.79 any size coffee deal, so I had the same 16 oz coffee/hot chocolate I got last week.

IMG_8385.jpg

Anyway.  Fastest/hardest long run of my life.  My body hates me now.  The ice bath felt amazing, and I’ve been eating nonstop since 10 am today.  Gotta refuel properly!

IMG_8387.jpg

IMG_8388.jpg

+ carrots, sweet potatoes, yogurt, NatureBox snacks (more below), etc…

Last week’s mileage:

Monday: 6 miles, drills, strides, strength circuit
Tuesday: 20 min warm-up but sick so took rest of day off
Wednesday: 60 min XT (bike)
Thursday: 6 miles, drills, strides, strength circuit, yoga
Friday: 3 mi warm-up, fartlek (10-8-6 with 2 min recovery), 20 min cool-down.  Total = 10 miles
Saturday: 3 miles kind of fast, abs
Sunday: 10 miles (38 minutes super fast)

Total: 38 miles, 60 min XT

I got sick on Monday and Tuesday, so after running the warm-up on Tuesday and confessing to my coach that I felt like shit, she told me to take the rest of the day off.  Mentally, it sucked.  Physically, it was the right call.  I’m a tiny bit annoyed, though, because if I had hit 9-10 miles that day like my schedule called for, I would’ve run above 45 miles for the week- aka the highest mileage I’ve ever done!


 

Due to getting sick, missing Tuesday’s workout, and having to go home, I didn’t race this weekend.  I went home on the train Thursday evening for a funeral and woke up bright and early Saturday morning to return to school.

IMG_8372.JPG

I made sure to pack plenty of lovely snacks for the train.

IMG_8379.jpg

And I somehow did nothing for three hours before finally deciding to do some work…IMG_8381.jpg

A couple weeks ago, I decided to try out NatureBox because they had a 50% off first-time-subscriber deal.  The snacks arrived last week!

IMG_8319.jpg

I ordered white cheddar caramel popcorn, dark cocoa “nom noms”, blueberry almond quinoa bites, and they threw in the apple pie oat clusters as a surprise for free!

IMG_8354.JPGVerdict: the popcorn was amazing, the dark cocoa nom noms were disappointing (mealy/weird-tasting), the apple pie oat clusters were decent, and the blueberry almond quinoa bites were pretty good.  I’ve already finished the popcorn.  Darn.

The first-time deal was great (4 bags of snacks for $7!), but I cancelled my subscription because there is no way to justify spending $13.95 for 3 bags of snacks.  I’ll stick to the yogurt and oatmeal and bagels and fruits and vegetables that I can take from the caf.

Leave a Reply

