Dear 14-year-old me, what were you thinking?

It’s been a long day.  I woke up naturally at 5:30 am (for some reason I’ve been doing that every day this week) and couldn’t fall back asleep.  So I got out of bed, finished packing to leave campus, ate breakfast, and did various chores until we left at 7:45.  Arrived home around 10:30, immediately started packing up boxes of my belongings because we’re moving houses, went to the carpet store and other various errands, and went to the community center to cross train and got kicked out for skate night.  Luckily, Saturdays are my recovery days, and I only had 30 minutes of cross training OR 3 miles on my schedule.  I managed to do 25 minutes on the bike before I got kicked out, so I did some push-ups and 10 minutes of core when I got home.

IMG_8650.jpg

Perks of being home: Homemade chili and quinoa for lunch

Aaaanyway, I’m happy to be home for spring break, even though it’s kind of weird because we’re in the midst of packing the house up to move in a week and a half.

Speaking of which, as I was packing my entire life collection of books and old schoolwork into boxes this afternoon, I came across a gem; in the summer of 2011, 14-year-old me kept a food journal.

IMG_8648.jpg

I was appalled.  Reading the log actually made me nauseous.  And I’m not saying that from some superiority/runner/health point of view.  I had ginger ale five times in one day on August 8th!  Anyone would think that is disgusting.

It wasn’t like that was a one-day thing, either.  Every single day, I recorded multiple decadent treats: “Afternoon snack: chili, pasta salad, lemonade, brownie, cookie, truffle, Popsicle.”  I am not making this up.  Every breakfast was Nutella something, three sugary drinks a day, multiple desserts.  Little to no fruits or vegetables.  My sugar consumption must have been through the roof.  How I was not obese or diabetic, god only knows.

Can we take a moment to also thank puberty?

Transforming my diet was a multi-year learning process that definitely took a lot of willpower and mistakes.  And I absolutely still have a long way to go.  But just for comparison to my 2011 self, today I ate:

  • Breakfast (7 am): oatmeal with almond butter, apple, chia seeds, and cinnamon; plain Greek yogurt with banana
  • Morning snack (10:30 am): celery and banana with peanut butter, plain Greek yogurt with blueberries
  • Lunch (12:30 pm): homemade chili (with ground beef, corn, beans, tomato, etc.) with quinoa
  • Afternoon/evening snack (3 and 5 pm): 1/2 grapefruit, banana, Siggi’s raspberry yogurt
  • Dinner (7 pm): chicken pasta primavera with asparagus, spinach, pesto, and tomatoesIMG_8656.JPG

Today’s eating wasn’t even that great, but it was exponentially better than five years ago (except oops, I eat a ton of yogurt…#addiction).  And when I’m at school, I naturally make a spinach salad with almost every lunch and dinner.  Without even thinking about it anymore, I naturally gravitate away from processed foods (except for, like, bread).

IMG_8639

Yesterday’s lunch: salad + flatbread with turkey, provolone, avocado, tomato, and lettuce

When I was fourteen, I probably couldn’t have ever imagined not eating Nutella 3 times a day.  Klondike bars and sugary drinks were also staples.  Vegetables were a punishment.  Now, I can’t imagine eating anything I was eating back then on a regular basis.  This didn’t happen overnight.  But it did happen, and that’s what matters.

I’ll recap the past couple weeks of training tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

