Training recap (2/22-3/6)

I may have given myself mild hypothermia from my post-long run ice bath today.

Oops.

IMG_8666.jpg

Anyway, as I sit here drinking hot tea huddled in blankets with the heater going full blast, I’ll recap the past two weeks ūüėČ

Finally, finally, finally after a rollercoaster month of inconsistent training, I’ve been able to complete two weeks of “normal” training. ¬†My body is feeling it…but that’s a good thing.

Week of 2/22-2/28:

Monday: 6 miles, drills, strides, upper body lift
Tuesday: 20 minute warm-up, drills, strides, fartlek (8 x [2:00h, 1:00e, 1:00h, :30e]), 15 min cool down, lower body lift (Total = 10 miles)
Wednesday: 60 min stationary bike
Thursday: AM: 40 min elliptical.  PM: 6 miles, drills, strides, upper body lift, yoga
Friday: drills, 10 min run, 33 min progression run, 10 min run, 4 x 400m w/ 200m jog, 15 min cool down (Total = 11 miles)
Saturday: 3 miles
Sunday: 11 miles

Total: 47 miles, 100 min XT

Week of 2/29-3/6:

Monday: 6 miles, drills, strides, upper body lift
Tuesday: 20 min warm-up, drills, strides, [2 x 1200m 4:42, 4:38, 2 x 800m 2:53, 2:54, 6 x 400m 80, 80, 78, 77, 76, 74], 23 min cool down, lower body lift (Total = 10 miles)
Wednesday: 60 min XT pool (30 swim, 30 aqua jog)
Thursday: AM: 40 min stationary bike.  PM: 6 miles, drills, strides, upper body lift, yoga
Friday: 21 min warm-up, 4 mile pace run (6:35, 6:33, 6:22, 6:23), 24 min cool down, lower body lift (Total = 10 miles)
Saturday: 25 min stationary bike, core, push-ups
Sunday: 11 miles

Total: 43 miles, 125 min XT


Three cheers for real training! ¬†Putting in the work makes me satiated like nothing else. ¬†I was exhausted at the end of last week but less exhausted this week (although this morning’s¬†long run is starting to hit me…)

Last week’s long run was actually horrible; I felt shitty right from the get-go but struggled through by myself while progressively feeling worse the whole run. ¬†This week’s long run was a lot better: I ran a somewhat¬†erratically paced 5 miles with a friend from high school and then 6 miles by myself. ¬†My iPod¬†died after 6 minutes by myself, though!

march long run

I sped up once I was on my own…miles 7 and 8 were uber hilly

This week’s workouts were really solid. ¬†Tuesday was my first full track workout in seven weeks, and even though I didn’t feel amazing, it was thrilling¬†to be completely back on the track. ¬†Friday’s workout was “on your own”, so my friend and I headed out at 7 am in the middle of a freezing rain storm. ¬†Ice pellets were literally stinging our faces to the point where we couldn’t open our eyes during the warm-up, but the workout itself was not bad. ¬†For the conditions, it was a strong effort.

Knock on wood, I’m feeling good about my fitness level. ¬†My first outdoor race (the 3k) is in a little less than two weeks, and I want to be ready. ¬†I’m still not sure if I’ll be focusing on the 1500-3k or 3k-5k this spring, but I am open to whatever my coaches want me to do.

One of the perks of being home is the farmer’s market right down the street, so of course I stopped by before the long run. ¬†Stocked up on butternut squash, spaghetti squash, pink lady and goldrush apples, and kale!

IMG_8660.jpg

And for my post-long run lunch, I had Siggi’s blueberry yogurt, a piece of 80% dark chocolate, an apple with peanut butter, and the same quinoa and chili I had for lunch yesterday!

IMG_8671.jpg

 

The afternoon has been filled with more house moving related activities, and now it’s time for a nap. ¬†In addition to training this week, I’ll hopefully be doing fun DC activities and road trip adventures!

Leave a Reply

