Silver diner, spaghetti squash, Squarebars!

This is a more positive, mostly food-related post 🙂

My meals have been on point recently.  I’ve also been waking up at 5:30 or 6 every day (usually not by choice), which makes the days feel really long.  Like, ready-for-lunch-by-9:30-am-and-bed-by-9-pm long.

Anyway, I decided to indulge yesterday because balance is very important.   Another sunny 80-degree day (which I enjoyed more because I didn’t have to run) brought a morning walk with the dog, a 3,000 meter swim in the pool (phew), and an afternoon with one of my good friends (shoutout to her because I know she reads this blog!).

IMG_8713.jpg

Lunch was absolutely delicious: tomato-mozzarella-pesto sandwich, sweet potato fries, and coleslaw.  I also ordered coffee..which I’ve been drinking a lot more recently…ahhh!

Afterwards, we drove out to a nature preserve and went on a mini hike and enjoyed the good weather.

IMG_8717.JPG

My friends have recently been singing praises for Halo Top ice cream, so I stopped by Whole Foods later in the day to pick some up.  I was really skeptical because ice cream is supposed to be unhealthy- that’s why it’s so good- and I’m not a big proponent of sugar alcohols such as erythritol.  But the rest of the ingredients list was impressive, and I read reviews beforehand so I knew I wasn’t falling for some nasty healthy-food scam 😉  I picked up a pint of vanilla bean Halo Top, along with a few other items because you really can’t just get one thing at Whole Paycheck Whole Foods.

Once I got home, I immediately tried the ice cream.  On a scale of 1-10, 1 being nauseating and 10 being just as good as Ben and Jerry’s, I’d honestly give it a 7!  It was impressively creamy, although not *quite* as creamy as regular ice cream.  The vanilla bean flavor was on point, and it was a refreshing treat after the 80-degree hike.  Unfortunately, it’s expensive ($5.99!), so I don’t think I’ll be buying it a lot.  But it was definitely good!

I ate the chocolate coated almond spice Squarebar today, and it was so good.  I don’t even know why I liked it so much, but I did.  I saved half for after my afternoon run, and I actually thought about it the whole run.  10/10 would recommend.  It was pretty much a candy bar, but with 12 grams of protein!

Another “treat”: a few nights ago, I made energy bites!  I went off of this recipe, but as long as you have oats, nut butter, and something to bind them (like chia or flax seeds), you can pretty much add in anything you want!

Ingredients: oats, pumpkin, almond butter, cinnamon, chia seeds, vanilla, maple syrup, almonds, craisins, and bittersweet chocolate chips.  They’re chewy and cookie-dough-like, and they’re utterly delicious.

Additionally, my new running shoes arrived 🙂

IMG_8730.jpg

My team is sponsored by New Balance, but I’ve tried running in multiple different NB models so far, and none of them have worked for me.  The apparel is great, the spikes are great…I just can’t run in the trainers!  So I’m sticking with Mizuno for the time being.

Today, I actually had a running double (as opposed to a cross train/run double)!  I ran 3 miles in the morning and did my upper body strength routine, and then in the afternoon I ran 6 miles and did strides.  Honestly, I had negative thoughts about my second run all day until I actually did it, and then it turned out to be a really good run!  It was still 80 degrees and humid, though.

I made dinner for my brothers and myself tonight: spaghetti squash and sauteed shrimp, zucchini, red bell pepper, spinach, and garlic in olive oil.  And Prego because I’m not that fancy 😉

The finished product (sorry for the shitty quality; the lighting in my house is bad and I’m not exactly a pro photographer)

IMG_8764

This is probably one of the best meals I’ve ever made.  It was my first time making spaghetti squash, and it turned out so well!!  I ate two full bowls, and now I’m ridiculously full.  Good, wholesome, nutrient-packed foods make me so happy.  My youngest brother even liked it a lot, although my other younger brother stuck to white pasta and tomato sauce…oh well…

Time to eat some more vanilla bean Halo Top for dessert 🙂

Leave a Reply

