TGIF

It’s Friday!!

Or rather…it’s not even 10 pm on a Friday night and I’m in my bed drinking chamomile tea, wearing fuzzy socks, and listening to peaceful piano music after returning from a Trader Joe’s trip.

Sometimes you just need these nights.  Especially because last night, I went to a concert and danced a little too hard and temporarily went a little deaf!

IMG_9080.JPG

Anyway, this week’s training has been good so far!  Nutrition has been pretty much par for the course: not stellar, not horrible.  I did eat a fair amount of ice cream…


 

For Tuesday’s workout, we traveled to a nearby campground, and I did a 3 mile warm-up, 5 mile progression run, and 2 mile cool down for a total of 10 miles.  I don’t know what all of my splits were for the progression run since I didn’t look at my watch the entire workout and fell off the group in the second half, but I think the first three miles were roughly 6:40, 6:28, 6:10 and my total time was 31:38 (6:19 average pace).  Even though I fell off the group, it was still a solid workout.

After 19 years spent priding myself in the fact that I have zero allergies, the fact that I now go to college in a pollen-covered swamp has finally hit me, and I’ve been quite miserable the past few days.  Runny nose, congestion through the roof, and today I could barely breathe without coughing.  We had a track workout today, and during the warm-up, it burned every time I took a breath.  My legs felt fine, but breathing was another matter…

The workout actually went surprisingly smoothly given my inability to breathe.  I was blowing my nose on my sports bra and coughing and probably grossing out every single one of my teammates, but we hit the paces fine.

The workout: 3 x 1000m at threshold pace (3:33ish, or 5:40 mile pace), 1 x 1000m “controlled all-out”, 1 x 1000m back at threshold pace, 5 x 200m.  90 seconds after most of the 1000s, 3 minutes after the “all-out” one, and 60 seconds between the 200s.

My splits: 3:34, 3:32, 3:36, 3:23, 3:34, 36, 35, 36, 34, 35

I was a little mentally negative during this workout, which I shouldn’t’ve been, but it’s done and I can’t change it now.  After our cool down, we did a leg lift, stretched, and ice bathed.  Afterwards, a bunch of us went to Zoe’s Kitchen for dinner!

IMG_9088

I had never been to Zoe’s Kitchen, but it was adorable and I really like it!  I got the salmon kabobs and also had some pita and pesto hummus.  The pesto hummus was amazing.

We also went to a cupcake shop before stocking up at Trader Joe’s and The Vitamin Shoppe.  I got the “chocoholic” cupcake (shocker, I know), and it was very good 🙂

As I mentioned before, this week had a fair amount of treats in it, although I don’t actually feel too bad about that.  Ice cream Sunday, ice cream Monday, and then it was my friend’s birthday on Tuesday so of course we had to celebrate with ice cream!  Then the cupcake today.  Oh, well.  Life is about balance and moderation.  I’ve been playing the piano a lot more recently, and it’s been very therapeutic for the most part.  Running has been going well this week, and aside from yoga, I have a complete off day tomorrow!

I can’t believe my freshman year of college will be over in a month.  It seems like I just got here yesterday!  Second semester has definitely been less “honeymoon-period”-y than first semester, but I don’t want to leave.

Leave a Reply

