“Summer” Training

It’s 55 degrees, I’m wearing slippers, and it has rained for fourteen days straight… must be summer ūüėČ

I’m waiting to hear back about an internship, so I’m currently in that weird limbo stage between the end of the school year, the respite before summer training starts up for real, and before I get a real job where I pretty much have nothing to do. ¬†So for the past few days, I’ve been trying to make really good meals in the¬†new, pretty kitchen!

IMG_1064

I tried pinole for the first time for breakfast the other day, and it was pretty good!  I cooked it with 1% milk and topped it with banana, cinnamon, and a drizzle of maple syrup.  The serving size was actually a bit too much for me.

Today was my first day back running! ¬†After conferences, I took nine days completely off, and this week I’m limited to 3-5 miles every other day for a total of 16ish miles this week. ¬† But I just received my training schedule for the next five weeks or so. ¬†As my mileage builds back up, there’s a¬†lot more cross training. ¬†I’d forgotten that at one point last summer, I was cross training four days a week in addition to running. ¬†Now it’s back! ¬†Time to get excited about lots and lots of time in the pool.

I just ran for 30 minutes today, and as expected, it sucked.  The first ten minutes were great, but after that I felt sick.  Oh, well, this is supposed to happen!  Afterwards, I did upper body strength, ankle stability, rolling, and yoga, then refueled with a bomb lunch.

(2 pieces of Ezekiel bread, raspberry jelly, avocado, a fried egg, Siggi’s whole-milk mixed-berry yogurt, and a salad with avocado, edamame, spinach, cucumber, red bell pepper, tomato, and poppyseed dressing.)

As far as mileage goes, my coaches and I agreed during our¬†end-of-season meeting to increase my mileage this summer. ¬†I’m pretty pumped. ¬†Over the next six weeks, my weekly mileage will go from zero¬†to¬†52, and I will slowly replace my cross training doubles with running doubles. ¬†While I’m excited, I also need to not obsess over the training that won’t happen for another month and a half, and focus on safely building my mileage back up to that point.

I also need to find a job. ¬†But, you know, we can worry about that later ūüėČ

Leave a Reply

