Summer Training Week 1

I figured I’d write similar recaps as last year for this summer!  Can you believe it’s been a year since I first started college training?  I remember getting my schedule for the first time last year and feeling apprehensive out of my mind upon seeing “39 miles” for week 4.  And here I am, approximately 2,000 miles later!

Summer 2016 week 1 (5/22-5/29):

  • Monday: 4 miles, abs, push-ups/pull-ups/dips, 20 min yoga
  • Tuesday: 5 miles, leg lift
  • Wednesday: 60 minutes pool (40 swim, 20 aqua jog), abs
  • Thursday: AM: 4 miles, push-ups/pull-ups/dips. Very humid and didn’t feel great. PM: 6 mile hike with friends
  • Friday: 5 miles, abs.  Super humid and tired from hike/sun
  • Saturday: 60 minutes stationary bike
  • Sunday: 6 miles, abs.  Hot.

Total: 24 miles, 120 min XT, 6 mile hike

This week’s runs were all pretty short, but some of them felt loooong.  I’ve never done well in the heat or humidity, and I need to re-acclimate to both!  Trying to keep the “if 5 miles feels this hard, how am I going to do 12??” thoughts out of my mind 🙂

I’m also trying to spend time outdoors in the heat in order to acclimate further!  We went to Roosevelt Island the other day, and it made for a beautiful afternoon walk.  “The nation behaves well if it treats the natural resources as assets which it must turn over to the next generation increased and not impaired in value.”

Nutrition-wise: I ate fairly well for most of this week, but then we had a little dinner party on Saturday night.  My mom went crazy with the cooking and I went crazy with the eating 😉  So I’ve needed a few days to recover from that.  Also, now that I’ve entered the base-building phase, I’ve been playing around with my macronutrient goals and seeing how 45C/30F/25P works for me once again.  I’ll let you know!

IMG_1273

Can we take a minute to appreciate how photogenic this breakfast is?  I tried Kodiak cakes for the first time, and they were a delicious, protein-packed breakfast with some butter, maple syrup, and melted frozen raspberries.  Along with coffee and Greek yogurt, of course. 😉

I also made zucchini oatmeal for the first time (meh…at least it was pretty) and then a “waffle” made out of egg and shredded zucchini.  It was pretty much a waffle-shaped frittata!

I start working on Tuesday, so I’m not sure how much weekday free time I’ll have to check things off on my summer bucket list…which keeps getting longer as I spontaneously add whatever I see that looks interesting!  It’s like three pages long…oops.  This week, in addition to working, I have 32 miles and four cross training days on schedule.

 

 

Leave a Reply

