Summer Training Week 2

Summer 2016 week 2 (5/30-6/5):

Monday 5/30: AM: 5 miles, abs, upper body strength, yoga
Tuesday: 7 miles, drills, strides.  Felt crappy.  Super humid.
Wednesday: 50 min pool (25 swim, 25 aqua jog)
Thursday: AM: 5 miles, upper body strength.  PM: 40 min bike, abs, pull-ups
Friday: 7 miles @ 7:29 pace with my friend Noah, strides
Saturday: 60 min bike
Sunday: 8 miles @ 7:34 average

Total: 32 miles, 180 minutes cross training

Ironically, I didn’t actually run on Global Running Day (Wednesday).  Hope everyone else did!

IMG_1406

Throwback to a workout last fall

The four-days-per-week cross training grind is real right now.  The good thing about having two non-optional days in the pool is that it kind of makes me look forward to an hour on the stationary bike.

IMG_1462

17 miles later…

Monday and Tuesday were both kind of crappy runs as I continued to hammer for no reason.  Thursday’s run was actually pretty good, and on Friday I finally had a running buddy, so that was really nice!  I cross trained again on Saturday, and on Sunday I brilliantly ran to the Iwo Jima Memorial…four miles straight downhill on the way out and four miles straight uphill on the way back.  I took five breaks on the way back.  I’m not kidding.  It was real rough.

I did not do any leg lifts this week…oh well.  No regrets.  My legs are tired!

Nutrition: good.  Celebrated National Donut Day, of course 😉

I tried Quark for the first time (plain + frozen raspberries).  I liked it!  You shouldn’t expect it to taste like yogurt, though, because…it’s cheese.  It tastes like creamy cottage cheese.

 

Job training has been going well; I’m working at an ice cream and coffee place and so I have to learn how to make a crazy amount of coffee drinks!

Up next: mileage increases to 38 but only three days of cross training.  Crazy! 🙂

One thought on “Summer Training Week 2

  1. Pingback: Summer training week 7: 56 miles! | runner14girl

Leave a Reply

