Summer Training Week 3

Summer 2016 week 3 (6/6-6/12):

IMG_1515

Monday 6/6: AM: 30 min aqua jog, abs.  PM: 6 miles @ 7:27 average, upper body strength, 20 min yoga
Tuesday: 8 hilly miles
Wednesday: 60 min stationary bike.  Walked around DC for like 5 miles
Thursday: AM: 6.5 miles @ 7:42 average, upper body strength, abs.  PM: 30 min swim
Friday: 8 miles.  Extremely hilly!
Saturday: off
Sunday: 10 miles on canal.

Total: 38.5 miles, 120 min XT

This week, I had running buddies for every run!  It was a really nice change.  I was surprised to look at my watch on Monday to see a 7:27 average pace, so we made a conscious effort to go very easy on Thursday and still ran 7:42…what a change from last year!  Thursday was a really long day- run in the morning, 5 hours of working the summer afternoon rush at the ice cream store, and a cross train in the afternoon.

On Wednesday, I biked for an hour in the morning and then went on a DC date at night and walked 5ish miles around all the monuments.  It was worth it!

Friday’s run was insanely hilly, but I felt good!  Rachel has to run at 6:30 am every day, so I woke up at 5:55 and was home by 8.  My legs were trashed afterwards, and I took a nap before 10 am 😉

Sunday’s long run was not great.  My legs, especially the quads, felt heavy right from the beginning, and that, combined with the heat and humidity, made for a 10-mile struggle.  Oh, well.

Overall, it was a solid week of training.  My body needs to get used to an additional 20-30 hours of standing/working on top of training, though.  I also need to sleep more!  And possibly add in some easier runs since going 7:15-7:30 pace on every run is probably unnecessary.

Nutrition: Not bad.  Could be better.  But life is short 😉  Loving avocados, eggs, and Ezekiel sprouted grain bread right now, and forcing myself to love cottage cheese.

IMG_1509

And strawberry shortcake.  And slutty brownies. Whoops 😉

The upcoming week brings 47 miles and *only* 90 minutes of cross training!  We’re getting back up to what was my peak mileage during track season, except right now it’s all in the form of maintenance runs.

PS: My friend got first-team All-American at NCAAs!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

