Summer Training Week 4

IMG_1708.jpg

Summer 2016 week 4 (6/13-6/19):

Monday: AM: 6 miles, pull-ups/push-ups/dips.  PM: 30 min swim
Tuesday: (almost) 9 miles @ 7:18 average, 10 min abs
Wednesday: 60 min stationary bike, squats/lunges
Thursday: AM: 3 miles, pull-ups/push-ups/dips, 10 min abs. PM: 6 miles
Friday: 9 miles.  Hilly
Saturday:  3 miles, 20 min yoga
Sunday: 11 miles (DC tour run!)

Total: 47 miles, 90 min XT

Holy. Crap.  This week was spent discovering the true meaning of tiredness.  I worked every single day, mostly the evening shift, which meant I had zero time for dinner or sleep.  After being on my feet for 6 hours straight, I’d get home at 11, eat dinner, and go to bed at midnight, only to wake up at 5:45 am to run.  Surprisingly, most of my runs were fine.  I consciously backed off the pace on Monday, Thursday, and Saturday, which was a really good choice.  Today still didn’t feel good, though.  Grr.

IMG_1694 (1).jpg

This week’s long run was incredibly picturesque.  We didn’t go until 10 am, so it was fairly hot and sunny.  We started at Roosevelt Island and pretty much did a tour of the National Mall.  The blazing sun forced us to stop several times for water, and we were fairly dehydrated.  I was covered in salty sweat by the end…good looks!  I didn’t feel good during the run, but it was so beautiful that it almost made up for it.  Afterwards, we went for brunch, and I had crepes benedict and a cannoli and a fancy iced coffee!  It was lovely.

IMG_1729 (1).jpg

I actually feel really happy with my nutrition this week, which is a little weird because it’s not like I followed some stringent plan or anything.  Working in an ice cream store, I had a ton of ice cream and smoothie samples, and my “dinner” during all the evening shifts I worked was a bagel and cream cheese, or a random chicken salad sandwich from Chick-Fil-A, followed by more bread/English muffins whenever I got home (11 pm or later).  Not exactly prime fueling.  But I’m actually completely fine with that!  How strange.  I think as mileage increases, the body craves any and all calories for energy and recovery.

But I made the butternut squash/kale/Gruyere casserole and also had grilled tuna steaks last night for the first real dinner at dinner time in four days.  So good!!

IMG_1721.jpg


My coach just sent out training plans for the rest of the summer.  Needless to say, my heart skipped a couple beats when I saw “60 miles” consistently on my schedule.

IMG_1730.jpg

This upcoming week, I will hit 50 miles for the first time in my life (52), and I’ll be at 60 in three weeks!! Holy crap.  I’m actually a little sad that my Wednesday hour-long cross train is going away (to be replaced with a 5-mile run)… I’ve been doing that for a year, and it’s a nice little routine!

Since I leave for California on Thursday and will be in the mountains, I’ll have to get creative with fitting in the mileage.  I most likely won’t be able to do any doubles, and I’ll have to switch around some Wednesdays/Thursdays based on travel plans.  But I’m willing to be flexible to play it safe.  One thing I do not want to do is overtrain/burn out.  The “little things” (stretching, icing, core work, sleep) are going to become more important as well.

I’m literally running twice the mileage I ran in high school.  But high school was awhile ago, and my coaches know what they’re doing.  So excited 🙂 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

