Summer Training Week 6: long run gets longer

Summer 2016 week 6:

Monday: 7 miles Horseshoe Meadows Road at Mount Whitney, drills, strides
Tuesday: 8 miles Movie Road at Mount Whitney.  Slow + tired.  Push-ups + 10 min abs
Wednesday: 6 miles Horseshoe Meadows Road at Mount Whitney
Thursday: 7 miles Santa Clara river trail, drills, strides, 10 min abs
Friday: 3+ mile warm-up, 22 min tempo (6:20-6:30 pace, I think), 3 mile cool down = approx. 10 miles
Saturday: off.  Upper body strength + 10 min abs
Sunday: 12 miles @ 7:35 average

Total: 50 miles, 7 mile hike

IMG_1996.jpg

The first three days of this week were spent at Mount Whitney, and my brother and I woke up at 4:45 am every day to drive down the mountain so I could run!  (You rock, bro.)  I was definitely very tired while I was there and spent most of the time that I was not training/hiking/eating taking naps.  I was still tired on Thursday but expected that.

Flew home on Thursday night so I missed that day’s double (I was supposed to hit 53 miles this week).  On Friday, I woke up early for the workout, which surprisingly went okay considering jet lag and travel tiredness.  I had a buddy for the warm-up, cool-down, and 16 minutes of the tempo.  It was definitely a workout rust-buster and a shock to the body, but we got through it!

On Sunday, I met up with a teammate for the first time since school ended, and we had so much to talk about that the first 9-10 miles flew by!  The weather was awesome, too- 65 degrees and cloudy/rainy.  Officially hit 12 miles for my long run for the first time!

IMG_2108

I stopped at the farmers’ market on the way home and picked up some tomatoes, peaches, arugula, garlic and herb goat cheese, and a fresh baguette.  Made crostini for part of my lunch, but while I was at work, my idiot dog ate the rest of the baguette 😦

IMG_2116

French bread, goat cheese, tomato, arugula, and balsamic vinegar

The upcoming week has 56 miles on the schedule, so another increase in mileage.  We’ll see how it goes!  I’m truly enjoying summer training since the weather is behaving, but I know that at some point I need to get used to the heat again…

Leave a Reply

